Next-Generation Pharmacist Videos

Nominate a deserving pharmacist for the 2013 Next-Generation Pharmacist Awards, and watch videos of 5 winners from 2012.

Nominate a deserving pharmacist for the 2013 Next-Generation PharmacistTM Awards, and watch videos of 5 winners from 2012.

Nominations are now open for the 2013 Next-Generation PharmacistTM Awards, presented by Pharmacy Times and Parata Systems. To nominate a hard-working, inspiring pharmacist, tech, or pharmacy student who exemplifies what the pharmacy profession can and should be, click here. The deadline for entries is April 15, 2013, and nominations can be submitted directly from the website or printed out and sent in via mail.

As we look forward to this year’s awards, which will be presented at a special gala dinner event held at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on Sunday, August 11, 2013, concurrent with the National Association of Chain Drug Stores’ Total Store Expo, we honor our 2012 awardees. Scroll down to see videos of the winners in the following categories:

  • Civic Leader of the Year
  • Entrepreneur of the Year
  • Future Pharmacist of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Military Pharmacist of the Year

(Videos of winners in the remaining 5 categories will follow soon.)

2012 Civic Leader of the Year: Peter Crouch

Among the ways Peter Crouch, RPh, owner of Eden Drug in Eden, NC, has tended to his community's health is by offering free classes to local patients on heart health and diabetes care. To read more about Crouch, click here.

2012 Entrepreneur of the Year: Joseph Moose

Joseph Moose, PharmD, pharmacist manager of Moose Pharmacy in Concord, NC, who was also named the 2012 Next-Generation Pharmacist, is a fourth-generation pharmacist who emphasizes medication therapy management (MTM) services and patient counseling. To read more about Dr. Moose, click here.

2012 Future Pharmacist of the Year: Sheri Winner

Sheri Winner made advocacy for both pharmacists and patients a trademark of her years at the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy. To read more about Winner, click here.

2012 Lifetime Achievement: Lonnie Hollingsworth

Lonnie Hollingsworth, PharmD, owner of L&H Drugs in Lubbock, TX, has spent more than 50 years as a pharmacist, and the list of honors, professional organization posts, and awards he has received spans 3 pages. To read more about Dr. Hollingsworth, click here.

2012 Military Pharmacist of the Year: MAJ Debra Cosby

MAJ Debra Cosby, PharmD, assistant chief of pharmacy at Brooke Army Medical Center in Houston, TX, has active-duty experience in Kosovo and Qatar, and has pursued a specialization in psychiatric medications. To read more about MAJ Cosby, click here.