CPNP Announces Saklad Memorial Award and Research Award Recipients


The College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists was honored to present the Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award at the 2015 CPNP Annual Meeting.


Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award

CPNP was honored to present the Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award at the 2015 CPNP Annual Meeting for the eighteenth time. This award celebrates the life and work of the late Judith J. Saklad. Dr. Saklad was a founding member of CPNP and nationally recognized as an innovator of pharmaceutical care to children and adults with serious mental disorders, developmental and intellectual disabilities. The 2015 recipient is Dr. Carla Cobb.

Carla Cobb is a psychiatric pharmacy specialist at RiverStone Health and the Montana Family Medicine Residency in Billings, Montana where she has practiced for 16 years. She is a Clinical Professor in Pharmacy Practice at the University of Montana. Carla graduated from the University of Manitoba and received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Texas. She completed a residency in psychiatric pharmacy at the University of Texas and San Antonio State Hospital. She is board certified in psychiatric pharmacy. She is a founding member and Past President of the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists and serves on the drug utilization review board for Montana Medicaid, the Montana Patient Centered Medical Home stakeholder council, and the Pharmacy Quality Alliance. Her practice and research is focused on the team approach of care for people with psychiatric disorders in the primary care setting, including the role of pharmacist-provided comprehensive medication management. In 2013 she was awarded the Bowl of Hygeia for outstanding community service.

CPNP Research Awards

Abstracts and Awards Council Chair Jonathan Leung, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS, is pleased to recognize the Research and Practice Award winners and finalists selected at the recently completed 18th Annual Meeting. These awards recognize excellence in investigators presenting abstracts at the CPNP Annual Meeting. Award Finalists presented platform presentations and displayed their posters during the meeting.

Award Winners

Innovative Practice Award Winner:

Melissa Brewster, PharmD, BCPS, Clinical Psychiatric Pharmacy Specialist, George E Wahlen VA Medical Center, Salt Lake City, UT: Development and Implementation of a Pharmacist-Managed Intranasal Naloxone Distribution Program in a Veterans Affairs (VA) Healthcare Facility and Associated Community Clinics

Original Research Award Winner:

Kyle Burghardt, PharmD, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Wayne State University, Detroit, MI: The Pharmacoepigenetics of Metabolic Syndrome in Schizophrenia

Research Trainee Award Winner:

Lindsey Peters, PharmD, Visiting Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Ohio Northern University, Ada, OH: Therapeutic Effects of Intranasal Insulin Aspart on Cognitive Function in Post-operative Delirium

Therapeutic Case Report Award Winner:

Ian McGrane, PharmD, BCPS, Clinical Pharmacist, Shodair Children's Hospital, Helena, MT

Donepezil-Related Intractable Hiccups: A Case Report

Additional Award Finalists

Innovative Practice Award Finalist:

O. Greg Deardorff, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Manager, Fulton State Hospital, Fulton, MO: Hematological Clozapine Monitoring With Finger Prick In A Forensic Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Setting

Original Research Award Finalist:

Ian McGrane, PharmD, BCPS, Clinical Pharmacist, Shodair Children's Hospital, Helena, MT: Pharmacogenetics of Cytochrome P450 Enzymes in American Indian and Caucasian Children Admitted to a Psychiatric Hospital

Research Trainee Award Finalists:

Elizabeth Baltenberger, PharmD, PGY-2 Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice Resident, Chillicothe VAMC, Chillicothe, OH: Evaluation of Pharmacogenomic Testing of Patients with Treatment Resistant Depression and Schizophrenia within a VA Population

Katherine Blissit, PharmD, BCPS, PGY1 Pharmacy Practice Resident, William Jennings Bryan Dorn Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Columbia, SC: Safety of benzodiazepine use among four patient groups with Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) in a VA Medical Center

Therapeutic Case Report Award Finalist:

Nicole East, PharmD, Resident, Rutgers, Linwood, NJ: Topiramate in the Treatment of Prader-Willi Syndrome

Recent Videos
Image credit:  Gorodenkoff | stock.adobe.com
Sun Screen, Photosensitivity, Pharmacy | Image Credit: sosiukin - stock.adobe.com
Catalyst Trial, Diabetes, Hypertension | Image Credit: grinny - stock.adobe.com
Various healthy foods -- Image credit: New Africa | stock.adobe.com
LGBTQIA+ pride -- Image credit: lazyllama | stock.adobe.com
Modern pharmacy building facade with large window showcasing the interior, as seen from the street view, promoting a welcoming atmosphere for customers. Frontal view. Generative AI - Image credit: Karrrtinki | stock.adobe.com