ASHP Presents Annual Awards in Recognition of Achievements in Health Care


National Academy of Medicine President Victor J. Dzau, MD was among those honored at the 2020 ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition.

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) awarded National Academy of Medicine Victor J. Dzau, MD its Board of Directors Award of Honor at its virtual 2020 Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition. The award was 1 of 3 ASHP board awards presented during the meeting’s opening session that also recognized pharmacy professionals for leadership in health equity, and staff excellence.

The ASHP Board of Directors Award of Honor recognizes an individual outside the pharmacy disciple who has made significant national or international contributions to the health field. Dzau also serves as vice-chair of the National Research Council in Washington, DC.

The ASHP Board of Directors Distinguished Leadership Award was presented to John A. Armistead, MS, RPh, FASHP, the system director of pharmacy services of Lee Health in Fort Myers, Florida. The award recognizes excellence in pharmacy practice leadership in ambulatory and acute care settings.

The ASHP Board of Directors Donald E. Francke Medal, which is awarded to a pharmacist who has made international contributions to the advancement of pharmacy practice, was awarded to Anthony Serracino-Inglott, PharmD. Serracino-Inglott is a professor in the department of pharmacy, faculty of medicine and surgery at the University of Malta in Msida.

Another award presented at the midyear meeting was the ASHP-Association of Black Health-System Pharmacists Joint Leadership Award. The award was presented to Kathleen B. Kennedy, PharmD, professor and dean at Xavier University of Louisiana College of Pharmacy in New Orleans for being a champion of health equity. Kennedy is an advocate for reducing racial and ethnic disparities in health care.

The CEO Award for Staff Excellence, which is presented to ASHP staff members, was awarded to 3 individuals: Maria Carias, director of member operations in the office of member relations; Eric Maroyka, the senior director of the Center on Pharmacy Practice advancement; and Goldie Holloman Johnson, the administrative manager in the accreditation services office.

The award ceremony also acknowledged the impact the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) has had on the pharmacy space and those that are rising to the occasion.

“Over the past several months ASHP has published a series of articles featuring examples of many members who have shared their diverse and moving personal perspectives from the front lines of the pandemic. These stories capture a wide range of contributions including refining workflows to handle patient surges, handling prescriptions, creating a drive-up anticoagulation clinic, working side by side with emergency room teams, ICU teams, and others, across the hospitals and clinics,” said presenter and ASHP CEO Paul W. Abramowitz, PharmD, ScD (Hon), FASHP.


ASHP Recognizes Healthcare Leaders During Virtual Midyear Clinical Meeting [news release]. Bethesda, MD; ASHP: December 7, 2020. [email]

Recent Videos
Image credit:  Gorodenkoff |
Pharmacist and Patient in Pharmacy | Image Credit: Gorodenkoff -
Catalyst Trial, Diabetes, Hypertension | Image Credit: grinny -
Image Credit: © Anastasiia -
Various healthy foods -- Image credit: New Africa |
Image Credit: © Анастасія Стягайло -
Modern pharmacy building facade with large window showcasing the interior, as seen from the street view, promoting a welcoming atmosphere for customers. Frontal view. Generative AI - Image credit: Karrrtinki |
hematological cancer/Image Credit: © nikola-master -
breast cancer treatment/Image Credit: © Siam -
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.