APhA Recognizing Professionwide Award Recipients


Award winners will be honored for their service to the pharmacy community, profession, and their advocacy for education and leadership at the American Pharmacists Association Annual Meeting & Exposition in Seattle.

The American Pharmacist Association (APhA) is formally recognizing its Professionwide Awards recipients at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition in Seattle, March 22—25, 2019. These awards are part of the 2019 APhA Awards and Honors Program, the most comprehensive recognition program in the pharmacy profession.

Lucinda L. Maine, PhD, FAPhA, of Arlington, VA, was named the 2019 recipient of the Remington Honor Medal, the highest award given in the field of pharmacy by APhA. Her award was announced by the association in November 2018.

Additional award winners are being honored for their service to the pharmacy community, profession, and their advocacy for education and leadership. The following award recipients were announced in January 2019.

Hugo H. Schaefer Award

The award recognizes Kenneth Michael Hale, RPh, PhD, of Upper Arlington, OH, whose contributions include the founding of the Generation Rx Initiative, which in partnership with APhA Academy of Pharmacists, the Cardinal Health Foundation, The OSU College of Pharmacy, and the APhA Foundation, provides research and tools for education on prescription drug abuse.

Hubert H. Humphrey Award

This award recognizes APhA members who have made major contributions in government and legislative service in the local, state, or national level. Michael A. Moné, BSPharm, JD, of Powell, OH is recognized for his regulatory word with boards of pharmacy and the profession to advance the scope and delivery of patient care by pharmacists.

Good Government Pharmacist-of-the-Year Award

Julie Akers, PharmD, BCACP, of Spokane, WA is being honored for her contribution to the community through her involvement in the political process with service on the Washington State Pharmacy Association Board of Directors since 2008.

Honorary Membership

Honorary membership is conferred by the APhA Board of Trustees upon individuals, either within the profession of pharmacy or outside of it, whose activities and achievements have had a significant positive impact on public health, the pharmacy profession, and its practitioners.

This year’s honorary membership is bestowed upon Katherine Keough, of Quincy, MA, for her leadership in addressing the opioid crisis, and to Linda Gibson of Petaluma, CA, wife of former APhA President Bob Gibson, for being a “fierce advocate for pharmacy and the value that pharmacists bring to the table.”

Other award recipients include:

Honorary President

This award is given to an individual who has made significant contributions to the Association. Dorothy L. Smith, PharmD, is the president and CEO of the Consumer Health Information Corporation, which is responsible for more than 1,000 patient education programs to ensure communication between health professionals, patients, and the pharmaceutical industry.

Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award

Given to an individual who has promoted and encouraged pharmacists to attain leadership positions through example, this award recognizes Milap C. Nahata, PharmD, MS, of Columbus, OH, who has been the Editor-in-Chief of the Annals of Pharmacotherapy since 2006, and who has mentored, encouraged, influenced, and guided generations of pharmacy leaders, according to APhA.

H.A.B Dunning Award

This award recognizes an exemplary contribution to APhA and the practice of pharmacy by a pharmaceutical manufacturer, provider of support products or service, or other entities such as wholesalers, chain corporations, etc. Albertsons is being recognized for its outstanding support of the APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists Operation Immunization and partnership with APhA to advance the delivery of pharmacists’ patient care services.

Distinguished Federal Pharmacist Award

CDR Aimee L. Young, PharmD, BCPS, CPE, US Public Health Service, of Anchorage, AK is the first provider in Alaska to obtain the Certified Pain Educator credential and has been instrumental in improving care and access to care at Alaska Native Medical Center.

Distinguished New Practitioner Award

This award, which recognizes a new practitioner, within his/her first 5 years of practice, who has demonstrated distinctive achievements in mentorship, service and commitment to the profession of pharmacy, is given to Cortney M. Mospan, PharmD, BCACP, BCGP, who was instrumental in developing the Community Health Ambassadors program, a community outreach initiative designed specifically for new practitioners.

Community Pharmacy Residency Excellence in Precepting Award

Edith Mirzaian, PharmD, BCACP, whose involvement in the community residency training program at the University of Southern California School of Pharmacy, is recognized by this award, which is presented to a community pharmacy residency director or preceptor who has demonstrated excellence in precepting, mentoring, leadership, and community pharmacy residency program administration.

Generation Rx Award of Excellence

This award is presented to George Down, PharmD, of Philadelphia, PA, who had demonstrated a commitment to the mission of substance abuse education through his sustained commitment and outstanding contributions to the mission of substance abuse education.


American Pharmacists Association Announces Recipients of 2019 Professionwide Awards [news release]. Published January 9, 2019. https://www.pharmacist.com/press-release/american-pharmacists-association-announces-recipients-2019-professionwide-awards?fbclid=IwAR18bf1-FrZVV7leiyyHtSfVgibNS1hw1RLIMy-o8xkPwga8FhiCaUoFa-4. Accessed March 22, 2019.

Related Videos
Image credit:  Gorodenkoff | stock.adobe.com
Pharmacist and Patient in Pharmacy | Image Credit: Gorodenkoff - stock.adobe.com
Sun Screen, Photosensitivity, Pharmacy | Image Credit: sosiukin - stock.adobe.com
Catalyst Trial, Diabetes, Hypertension | Image Credit: grinny - stock.adobe.com
Image Credit: © Anastasiia - stock.adobe.com
Various healthy foods -- Image credit: New Africa | stock.adobe.com
LGBTQIA+ pride -- Image credit: lazyllama | stock.adobe.com
Image Credit: © Анастасія Стягайло - stock.adobe.com
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.