APhA Celebrates Pharmacists' Contributions to Increasing US Immunization Rates and Improving Health


The recipients of the 2018 APhA Immunization Champion Awards have been announced

The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) has announced the recipients of its 2018 Immunization Champions Awards, recognizing individuals and organizations that have made extraordinary contributions toward improved vaccination rates within their communities.

"The APhA Immunization Champion Awards program helps us tell the story regarding pharmacists' contributions to and impact on the health of communities and as valued members of the immunization neighborhood," APhA Chief Strategy Officer Mitchel Rothholz, RPh, MBA, said in a statement.

"This year is the 10th anniversary for presentation of the awards," he said. "We applaud the more than 320,000 pharmacists trained to administer vaccines and who are making a difference in their communities."

The APhA Immunization Champion Awards consist of 6 categories of recognition: individual practitioners; friend of pharmacy's immunization efforts; corporation/institution; partnership with other health care providers and public health; community outreach; and pharmacy team member. Nominees were evaluated based on the areas of impact, collaboration, originality, and overcoming challenges and creating opportunities for pharmacists. APhA also recognized Merck, Sanofi Pasteur, and Seqirus for their support of this awards and recognition program

The 2018 Immunization Champions Awards are as follows:

Individual Practitioner

National winners:

Andrew DeMotto, PharmD, BCPS, NCPS (Whiteriver, Arizona)

Holly E Gurgle, PharmD, BCACP, CDE (Salt Lake City, Utah)

Honorable mention:

Tuong-Lan Nguyen, PharmD (Broken Arrow, Oklahoma)

Luis Rosado, PharmD (Morovis, Puerto Rico)

Friend of Pharmacy

National winner:

Kimberly Battreall, LPN (Omaha, Nebraska)

Outstanding Career Achievement

National winner:

William L. Atkinson, MD, MPH (Saint Paul, Minnesota)


National winner:

Albertsons Companies (Boise, Idaho)

Honorable mention:

Fred's Pharmacy (Arlington, Tennessee)


National winner:

Project VACCINATE (Seattle, Washington)

Community Outreach

National winner:

Reeves-Sain Drug Store (Murfreesboro, Tennessee)

Honorable mention:

Brandy Turner, PharmD (Richmond, Virginia)

Pharmacy Team Member

National winner:

Cecilia Dudero, CPhT (Santa Clara, California)

The American Pharmacists Association established these special awards in 2008 and made the first presentations in 2009, to recognize the value and extraordinary contributions that pharmacists provide to improving the vaccination rates in their communities.

Related Videos
Image credit:  Gorodenkoff | stock.adobe.com
Pharmacist and Patient in Pharmacy | Image Credit: Gorodenkoff - stock.adobe.com
Sun Screen, Photosensitivity, Pharmacy | Image Credit: sosiukin - stock.adobe.com
Catalyst Trial, Diabetes, Hypertension | Image Credit: grinny - stock.adobe.com
Image Credit: © Anastasiia - stock.adobe.com
Various healthy foods -- Image credit: New Africa | stock.adobe.com
LGBTQIA+ pride -- Image credit: lazyllama | stock.adobe.com
Image Credit: © Анастасія Стягайло - stock.adobe.com
Modern pharmacy building facade with large window showcasing the interior, as seen from the street view, promoting a welcoming atmosphere for customers. Frontal view. Generative AI - Image credit: Karrrtinki | stock.adobe.com
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.