Community Pharmacy Leaders Recognized at NACDS Conference

Representatives from several Pharmacy Times Strategic Alliance Partners were recognized during the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation awards, which were presented earlier this week at the NACDS Pharmacy & Technology Conference in Boston.

Fougera Pharmacy Scholarship Award: Robert Loeffler, H-E-B chief financial officer and NACDS chairman of the board

In Loeffler’s honor, Fougera has made a contribution of $25,000 to the NACDS Foundation Pharmacy Student Scholarship Program to support the education of future leaders in patient care and to recognize pharmacy students who have a strong interest in pursuing a career in community pharmacy.

IMS Health Pharmacy Partnership Award: Daniel J. Salemi, RPh, vice president of pharmacy services, SuperValu Inc.

A contribution of $10,000 was awarded in Salemi’s honor to the NACDS Foundation. This award honors a leader who values the importance of data in fact-based communication and corporate planning.

Boehringer-Ingelheim Pharmaceutical Alliance Award: Deborah B. Garza, RPh, divisional vice president, government and community relations, Walgreen Co., and 2011 NACDS Pharmacy & Technology Conference Chairman

This award was bestowed in recognition of leadership, commitment and service to community pharmacy. Garza currently serves on the NACDS Policy Council and serves on the NACDS Foundation Board of Directors. Accompanying the award, a $10,000 contribution was donated by Boehringer-Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals Inc. to the NACDS Foundation in Garza’s name.

Community Pharmacy Preceptor of the Year Award: Anthony Pudlo, PharmD, MBA, regional clinical manager and preceptor for Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Kerr Health/Kerr Drug

The Foundation award, made possible by support from Apotex, recognizes a pharmacy preceptor who has made outstanding contributions to the education of pharmacy students in a community pharmacy practice setting. The award is accompanied by a $5,000 research stipend for recipient’s designated academic institution.

“The NACDS Foundation joins our benefactors in honoring these distinguished community pharmacy leaders and educators for their significant contributions,” said Edith A. Rosato, RPh, IOM, president of the NACDS Foundation. “We are pleased to recognize their achievements in advancing pharmacy care on behalf of patients.”