ASHP Presents the 2019 Harvey A.K. Whitney Award


The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) awarded Bruce E. Scott, a former president of ASHP, with the 2019 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award at their summer meetings in Boston.

The 2019 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award was presented to Bruce E. Scott, MS, Tuesday night at the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Summer Meeting in Boston. The award is presented annually to an individual who has done outstanding work in health-system pharmacy practice.

Established in 1950 by the Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists, the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award has been administered by ASHP since 1963. The recipient is decided by ASHP members and past recipients.

Scott said the award is a great honor, especially because several of the past recipients are his career heroes and mentors.

Scott earned a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy degree from the University of Wisconsin School of Pharmacy, and a Master of Science degree in pharmacy administration from the University of Kansas.

Prior to his retirement, Scott served as President of EnvisionPharmacies, which works with patients using traditional and specialty medications. He has an extensive background of leadership in health care organizations, including serving as President of Accredo Infusion Services at Medco Health Solutions, where he oversaw specialty pharmacy and home care infusion services. Prior to that position, he served as Chief Operating Officer of McKesson Medication Management.

Scott said a major challenge facing the industry is improving communication between the different areas of patient care, including physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and others. He has worked with all of these professions as Chief Pharmacist and Senior VP of Professional Practice at Medco, where he led over 3500 pharmacists, nurses, dieticians, and other health care professionals.

Having the opportunity to see many facets of the pharmacy care industry has been particularly influential, Scott said. He added that the chance to be involved in all aspects of the industry—including leadership roles, distribution management, and specialty care—has given him even more respect for the whole industry and everything that pharmacists do.

Scott also served as President of ASHP and the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Minneapolis and St. Paul. He has been a board member of the Utilization Review Accreditation Commission and has received multiple awards, including the Hugh F. Kabat Award for Service to Pharmacy in Minnesota, the Harold N. Goodwin Leadership Legacy Award, and the John Webb Lecture Award.

Finally, Scott said he thinks the future is bright for pharmacy services. Although the increasing complexity of drugs can present a challenge to pharmacists, Scott said he foresees phenomenal expansion in the upcoming years for patient care, treatment of illnesses, and in pharmacists' role in their communities.

Recent Videos
Image credit:  Gorodenkoff |
Pharmacist and Patient in Pharmacy | Image Credit: Gorodenkoff -
Sun Screen, Photosensitivity, Pharmacy | Image Credit: sosiukin -
Catalyst Trial, Diabetes, Hypertension | Image Credit: grinny -
Image Credit: © Anastasiia -
Various healthy foods -- Image credit: New Africa |