ASHP Announces Winners of Best Practices Award


Pharmacy teams from 6 institutes won the ASHP Best Practices Award.

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) recently announced this year’s Best Practices Award winners.

The prestigious award was created in 1999, and is sponsored via a partnership with Amgen. This annual recognition award program recognizes pharmacy teams who went above and beyond for their patients.

These award winners have all successfully implemented innovative approaches that highlight the best practices in pharmacies, according to an ASHP press release. To be eligible for this award, members of ASHP must be practicing in acute or ambulatory care systems.

Once nominations are received, a team of independent experts assess each application. Winners receive a plaque award, and give a poster presentation about the program that lead to winning the award.

At this year’s 51st Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition in Las Vegas, the award will be presented to 6 pharmacy teams who demonstrate leadership and innovation in improving patient care and pharmacy services, according to ASHP.

“These noteworthy practitioners bring innovative thinking and viewpoints to pharmacy practice and patient care,” said ASHP CEO Paul W. Abramowitz, PharmD, ScD, FASHP. “The pioneering systems these groups developed will serve as models for other pharmacists seeking to advance pharmacy practice and patient care in all health care settings.”

This year’s winners include:

A Comprehensive Control Substance Diversion Program: Collaboration, Prevention, and Organizational Pharmacy Leadership: Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts.

Christopher Fortier, PharmD, FASHP; Erasmo Mitrano, RPh, MS; Michelle McCrea, RPh; Dena Alioto, RPh; Kulwant Gill, PharmD; Jean Elrick, MD.

Antimicrobial Prescribing Improvement in Patients with Acute Respiratory Infections through Pharmacist Intervention in the Ambulatory Care Setting: Boise Veteran Affairs Medical Center, Boise, Idaho.

Jefferson G. Bohan, PharmD, BCPS; Lindsey M. Hunt, PharmD; Robert McKie, MD; Karl Madaras-Kelly, PharmD, MPH; ARI Campaign Implementation Team.

Elevating the Scope of Practice through Credentialing and Privileging: The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, Columbus, Ohio.

Trisha Jordan, PharmD, MS; Melissa Snider, PharmD, BCACP; Andrew Thomas, MD, MBA; Harrison Weed, MD, MS, FACP; Kent Hess, MHA, FACHE; OSUWMC Credentialing Department; Robert Weber, PharmD, MS, FASHP.

Implementation of a Pharmacy Managed Program for the Transition of Chemotherapy to the Outpatient Setting: The University of Arizona Cancer Center; Greenville Health System Cancer Institute; Banner - University Medical Center Tucson, Tucson, Arizona.

Ali McBride, PharmD, MS, BCOP, BCPS, FAzPA; Christopher Campen, PharmD, BCOP; James Camamo, PharmD, BCPS; Marie Maloney, PharmD; Daniel Persky, MD; Emad Elquza, MD; Kurt Wiebel, PharmD, MS.

Optimizing the Management of Patients Presenting to the Emergency Department with Atrial Fibrillation: Pharmacists at the Center of a New Treatment Paradigm: University of North Carolina Health Care, Chapel Hill, NC.

Zack Deyo, PharmD, BCPS, CPP; Leah Hatfield, PharmD, BCPS; Phil Mendys, PharmD, CPP, FAHA; Heather Tuttle, BSN, RN, CEN; Jennifer Walker, MSN, ANP-BC; Kevin Biese, MD, MAT; Anil Gehi, MD.

Tele-ICU Pharmacist Impact on Glycemic Control Across a Large Healthcare System: Virtual Critical Care at Carolinas HealthCare System, Charlotte, NC.

Sonia Everhart, PharmD, BCCCP, BCPS; Desiree Kosmisky, PharmD, BCCCP; Colleen Karvetski, PhD; Nehal Thakkar, MD, FCCP; Michael Reif, MD, FCCP; Kimberly Purtill, RN, MS, CCRN.

Related Videos
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.