Pharmacy Careers
Volume 0

IN 2006, PHARMACY TIMES AND WAL-MARTestablished an elite award, known as the RESPy Award, tobe given to a pharmacy student who has made a differencein his or her community by demonstrating excellencein pharmaceutical care. Some criteria on which thepharmacy student is selected for this honor include:

  • Demonstration of voluntary public service activities
  • Demonstration of a high level of professional/publichealth-related activities outside the classroom
  • Demonstration of a high level of effort to advance theprofession of pharmacy in the public arena

We would like to congratulate the 6 students whowere selected as RESPy winners in 2006. Their achievementsand successes have truly made a difference in thefield of pharmacy!


University of Louisiana at Monroe Collegeof Pharmacy

Candace Thibodeaux, a third-year pharmacystudent from Lake Arthur, La, wasawarded the very first RESPy Award inMay 2006. She was one of many pharmacystudents who felt helpless as she watchedmedia coverage of the devastation causedby Hurricanes Katrina and Rita in southernLouisiana and the Gulf Coast region. Because of herinnate desire to serve, however, through her supervisor at theMonroe, La,Wal-Mart Pharmacy, she volunteered her servicesby helping evacuees at the Monroe Civic Center andproved herself a leader in this time of need.


University of Arkansas for MedicalSciences College of Pharmacy

Mandy Billingsley received the RESPyAward in June 2006.Mandy was given thishonor because of the characteristics sheembodied that every pharmacy studentneeds to prepare for a life of service topatients. She excelled in the classroom, wasinvolved in a multitude of professional activities, and was amodel of professionalism and respect for others.


University of Florida College of Pharmacy

Sheena Khirsukhani was chosen as the RESPy Awardwinner in September 2006 because of her enthusiasticvolunteerism and excellence in scholastic achievement.As president of a service fraternity, she served as a committeechairperson for the Breast Cancer Survivor Basketsprogram at Baptist Hospital in Jacksonville, Fla,and worked on the Susan G. Komen Breast CancerFoundation 5K race, which raises money for breast cancerresearch. She also was listed on the Dean's HonorRoll each semester and exhibits leadership in the pharmacyprogram.


University of Toledo College of Pharmacy

In October 2006, Andrea Pallotta was chosen as theRESPy Award winner, because "volunteerism definesAndrea's true passion," as was summarized in her nominationletter. Through her involvement in Alpha ZetaOmega Pharmaceutical Fraternity, she helped implementa program designed to encourage student involvement involunteerism in the community. She also volunteered hertime during spring break to work with an organizationwhose goal is to end world hunger and poverty throughself-reliance. In 2006, during spring break, she showedexcellent leadership skills when she served as studentcoordinator while helping to clean up a devastated townafter Hurricane Katrina.


University of PittsburghSchool of Pharmacy

Lauren Hynicka, a fourth-year studentat the University of Pittsburgh School ofPharmacy, earned the RESPy Award inNovember 2006. A self-starter, Laurenhad an "impressive capacity to maintaina high academic standing while balancingher leadership in school and professionalorganizations, as well as communityservice initiatives," according toher nomination letterfrom the dean.She energetically volunteeredto help amember of the facultyin a program designedto assist thehomeless in Pittsburgh.She was also amember of the PaulAmbrose Scholars program.


University of OklahomaCollege of Pharmacy

Kacee Vogt was chosen as theDecember 2006 RESPy winnerbecause of her strong dedication tovolunteerism and her scholasticexcellence. She helped clean updebris after a hurricane in PortArthur, Tex; assisted in the constructionof a church building inJuarez, Mexico; sifted throughdebris for salvageable items after atornado in Cordell, Okla; and participatedin many other volunteerefforts. She also maintained a 4.0grade point average at the Universityof Oklahoma College of Pharmacy,for which she received the college'smost prestigious award, theMosier Scholar Award.

Recent Videos
Practice Pearl #1 Active Surveillance vs Treatment in Patients with NETs