ASHP Announces 2019 Award Recipients


The awards will be presented at the ASHP’s Summer Meetings and the 54th Midyear Clinical Meeting.

The American Society of Health Systems Pharmacists (ASHP) has announced the recipients of its 2019 Board of Director’s Awards and the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award. These awards recognize the achievements of an accomplished group of health care practitioners, and will be presented at AHSP's upcoming conferences.

The following awards will be presented during ceremonies at the ASHP Summer Meetings and Exhibition in Boston, Massachusetts, June 8-12, 2019:

Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award

The Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of pharmacy practice. The award is considered to be the highest honor in health-system pharmacy.

The recipient is Bruce E. Scott, MS, FASHP, president (retired) of EnvisionPharmacies. According to ASHP, Scott is an influential pharmacy and health-system administrator who is noted for his efforts to expand clinical services, commitment to developing future generations of pharmacy leaders, and active service to the profession.

Honorary Membership

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Honorary Membership Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice. Honorary members are elected for life by unanimous vote of the ASHP Board of Directors.

The recipients are, Henri R. Manasse Jr, PhD, ScD, FFIP, CEO emeritus of ASHP, and professor and dean emeritus of University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy, and Sara J. White, MS, FASHP, director of pharmacy (retired) of Stanford Hospital and Clinics.

Manasse is a respected educator and leader in pharmacy and health care. A distinguished ambassador for the profession in the United States and abroad, he was an original advocate for sustained advances in pharmacy practice and played a key role in promoting the contributions of pharmacists in medication error prevention and safe medication use, according to ASHP. He served as ASHP CEO from 1997 to 2011.

White is a prominent pharmacy director, author, and leader in pharmacy, according to ASHP. She is known as an insightful thinker about the future of health-system pharmacy and is a vocal champion for leadership development for pharmacists at all stages of their careers.

The following awards will be presented at ASHP's 54th annual Midyear Clinical Meeting in Las Vegas, Nevada, December 8-12, 2019.

Award of Honor

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Award of Honor recognizes individuals outside the pharmacy discipline who have made extraordinary national or worldwide contributions to the health field.

The 2019 recipient is Arjun Srinivasan, MD, CAPT, US Public Health Service (USPHS), associate director for Healthcare-Associated Infection Prevention Programs, Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Disease, and the CDC in Atlanta.

Srinivasan is a nationally recognized physician leader, patient advocate, and research scientist. According to ASHP, Srinivasan is a champion of improved antibiotic prescribing and is known for involving pharmacists on interprofessional antibiotic stewardship teams.

Distinguished Leadership Award

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes contributions to excellence in pharmacy practice leadership in acute and ambulatory care settings.

The recipient is RADM (retired) Pamela Schweitzer, PharmD, BCACP, assistant surgeon general and 10th chief pharmacy officer of USPHS in Baltimore.

RADM Schweitzer is the USPHS’s first female Chief Pharmacy Officer. Throughout her career, she has developed lasting partnerships that improved the ability of federal pharmacists to serve the missions of their respective organizations.

Donald E. Francke Medal

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Donald E. Francke Medal honors pharmacists who have made significant international contributions to advance pharmacy practice.

The recipient is Albert I. Wertheimer, BSPharm, PhD, MBA, professor of Nova Southeastern University, College of Pharmacy in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, and visiting professor of Touro College of Pharmacy, New York, New York.

Wertheimer’s work, which combines outcomes research and pharmacoeconomics, has helped patients around the world obtain safe and affordable medications and has contributed to reduced national health expenditures.


American Association of Health-System Pharmacists. ASHP Announces 2019 Awards [news release]. Bethesda, Maryland; March 6, 2019: ASHP website. Accessed March 6, 2019.

Recent Videos
Image credit:  Gorodenkoff |
Sun Screen, Photosensitivity, Pharmacy | Image Credit: sosiukin -
Catalyst Trial, Diabetes, Hypertension | Image Credit: grinny -
Various healthy foods -- Image credit: New Africa |
LGBTQIA+ pride -- Image credit: lazyllama |
Modern pharmacy building facade with large window showcasing the interior, as seen from the street view, promoting a welcoming atmosphere for customers. Frontal view. Generative AI - Image credit: Karrrtinki |
Close up hands of helping hands elderly home care. Mother and daughter. Mental health and elderly care concept - Image credit:  ipopba |
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.