John Murphy to Receive ASHP's 2014 Whitney Award



6/2/2014-- John E. Murphy, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCCP, a pioneer in the field of clinical pharmacokinectics and noted pharmacy educator, is the recipient of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacy’s (ASHP’s) 2014 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award. Dr. Murphy will receive the award on June 3 during ASHP's Summer Meeting in Las Vegas.

Dr. Murphy is Professor and Associate Dean for Academic and Professional Affairs at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy and Investigator with the University of Arizona Center for Health Outcomes and PharmacoEconomic Research. Dr. Murphy helped develop and directed one of the first formal pharmacokinetic monitoring services at Georgia Baptist Medical Center in Atlanta. His research on the extent and impact of pharmacokinetic services provided by pharmacists in hospitals has been instrumental in broadening their use in patient care.

Dr. Murphy is also Professor of Clinical, Family and Community Medicine at the University of Arizona College of Medicine and previously served as head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the College of Pharmacy there. Before coming to the University of Arizona, he was Professor and Vice-Chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice at Mercer University School of Pharmacy and was the pharmacokinetic residency director at Georgia Baptist Medical Center. Dr. Murphy is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand.

A past president of ASHP, Dr. Murphy also served on the Board of Directors and for many years in the House of Delegates. He is currently a member of ASHP’s Commission on Credentialing, previously served on the Council on Legal and Public Affairs, and is a Fellow. He is also a past president and Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, and a past president of the Georgia Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

He has received numerous awards, including the 2013 William A. Golod Award from MUSC and South Carolina College of Pharmacy; The University of Texas and Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ Robert G. Leonard Memorial Lecture Award; and the ASHP Foundation Award for Sustained Contributions to the Literature of Pharmacy Practice. Dr. Murphy has made numerous contributions to the pharmacy literature and is a frequent speaker at national meetings.

Dr. Murphy is a graduate of The University of Florida where he received a B.S. in pharmacy and a Pharm.D.

ASHP has administered the Harvey A. K. Whitney Lecture Award, established in 1950 by the Southeastern Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists, since 1963. Harvey A. K. Whitney, ASHP’s first president, was an editor, author, educator, practitioner, and leader in hospital pharmacy. Nominations for the award are made by past recipients and ASHP members. The winner is selected by a majority vote of past honorees.

Related Videos
Concept of health care, pharmaceutical business, drug prices, pharmacy, medicine and economics | Image Credit: Oleg -
Image credit: |
Medical team -- Image credit: Flamingo Images |
Semaglutide Ozempic injection control blood sugar levels | Image Credit: myskin -
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.