ASHP Presents Award for Distinguished Leadership to Richard L. Lucarotti


Press Release

ASHP today honored Richard L. Lucarotti, Pharm.D., FASHP, with its Award for Distinguished Leadership in Health-System Pharmacy Practice during the opening session of ASHP's 50th Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition in New Orleans. Dr. Lucarotti was honored for the medication-safety improvements he has spearheaded as well as for his contributions to the expansion of pharmacy residency training.

As director of experiential education at the Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Wayne State University, Detroit, and executive vice president of the Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists (MSHP), Dr. Lucarotti has dedicated his career to the advancement of pharmacy practice and to the education and training of future pharmacists.

“Dr. Lucarotti has made enormous contributions to patient care, pharmacy practice, and the education of future pharmacists during his exceptional career,” said ASHP CEO Paul W. Abramowitz, Pharm.D., Sc.D. (Hon.), FASHP. “Rich’s longstanding pharmacy leadership makes him an obvious choice for this award.”

Established in 2001, the ASHP Award for Distinguished Leadership in Health-System Pharmacy Practice recognizes individuals who have achieved excellence in practice leadership.

Dr. Lucarotti began his career as a clinical pharmacist at The Ohio State University Hospital in Columbus. Since then, he has held several positions, including serving as assistant director of clinical services and director of pharmaceutical services at William Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, Mich., before joining the faculty at Wayne State.

Dr. Lucarotti is a past president of both MSHP and the Southeastern Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists. He has also served on several ASHP advisory bodies, including the ASHP Council on Educational Affairs, Commission on Credentialing, and the ASHP House of Delegates.

In addition to the ASHP Award for Distinguished Leadership, Dr. Lucarotti has received MSHP’s Pharmacist of the Year award (1984) and the Joseph A. Oddis Leadership Award (1999).

About ASHP

ASHP represents pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings. The organization’s more than 40,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. For over 70 years, ASHP has been at the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists advance healthcare, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,

Related Videos
Concept of health care, pharmaceutical business, drug prices, pharmacy, medicine and economics | Image Credit: Oleg -
Image credit: |
Medical team -- Image credit: Flamingo Images |
Semaglutide Ozempic injection control blood sugar levels | Image Credit: myskin -
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.