ASHP Members Receive 2019 Distinguished Service Awards


Volunteer leaders recognized for advancing mission of sections, new practitioners forum.

The American Society Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) has recognized the volunteer efforts of 6 practitioners with the Pharmacy Practice Sections and New Practitioners Forum (NPF) Distinguished Service Award.

These awards were presented at a reception during the ASHP 54th Midyear Clinical Meeting & Exhibition in Las Vegas. The awards recognize an outstanding member from each pharmacy practice section and the NPF, honoring pharmacists whose efforts have helped to advance the profession.

The 2019 recipients include the following:

Section of Ambulatory Care Practitioners (SACP)

Barbara Petroff, BSPharm, MS, FASHP

Barbara Petroff is a certified accreditation consultant and provides consulting services for infusion, specialty pharmacy, sterile compounding, and accreditation preparation, and as an expert witness. Petroff served on the Section of Ambulatory Care Practitioners Executive Committee and as a longtime volunteer for numerous Section initiatives.

Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists (SCSS)

Jill S. Bates, PharmD, MS, BCOP, FASHP

Jill S. Bates is an oncology precision therapeutics pharmacist at the University of North Carolina (UNC) Medical Center in Chapel Hill. She is also the national PHASeR pharmacy program manager for pharmacogenomics with the Department of Veterans Affairs, and an associate professor of Clinical Education at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. Bates served as vice chair and chair of the Council on Therapeutics, chair of the Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists Executive Committee, and she was a member of the Women in Pharmacy Leadership Committee.

Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners (SICP)

Emily Alexander, PharmD, BCPS, FASHP

Emily Alexander is a relief pharmacist, and an independent consultant on telepharmacy practice. She is the founder and former CEO of Envision Telepharmacy, a company (2004—2015) that was an early innovator and provider of remote medication order review, electronic supervision of pharmacy technicians, and a semiautomated IV workflow management system. Alexander served on the Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners Executive Committee as chair and director at large, was a member of the Section’s Committee on Nominations, and the ASHP Council on Public Policy. She also represented both the Section and Texas as a delegate in the ASHP House of Delegates.

Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology (SOPIT)

Barbara L. Giacomelli, PharmD, MBA, FASHP

Barbara L. Giacomelli is the vice president of Advisory Services at McKesson RxO, McKesson Pharmaceutical Solutions and Services. Giacomelli is a fellow of ASHP and served as chair of the ASHP Section of Informatics and Technology Executive Committee. She is a member of the ASHP/ACPE Pharmacy Technician Accreditation Commission.

Section of Pharmacy Practice Leaders (SPPL)

James M. Hoffman PharmD, MS, FASHP

James M. Hoffman is the chief patient safety officer and an associate member in Pharmaceutical Sciences at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee. Hoffman served the Section in a variety of capacities, including as vice chair and chair of the Section Advisory Group on Quality and Compliance and Director-at-Large and Chair of the Section Executive Committee. He was a member of the ASHP Council on Pharmacy Practice and the FASHP Recognition Committee and a delegate to the House of Delegates. He is a member of the steering committee of the ASHP Foundation Pharmacy Forecast and an author of the annual prescription drug expenditure forecast published in AJHP.

New Practitioners Forum (NPF)

Ashley Duty, PharmD, MS

Ashley Duty is clinical pharmacy operations manager at Children’s Mercy in Kansas City, Missouri, where she is responsible for 23 pharmacists in general medicine and hematology/oncology, and oversight of USP Chapter <797> and USP Chapter <800> for all sterile compounding operations. She recently served as a planner and presenter for the ASHP Sterile Product Preparation Certificate and the Compounded Sterile Products Certificate for Pharmacists.

Duty is a member of the Section of Pharmacy Practice Leaders Advisory Group on New and Emerging Leaders and President-elect of the Greater Kansas City Society of Health-System Pharmacists. A past chair of the New Practitioners Forum and past vice chair of the Pharmacy Student Forum, Dr. Duty is the author of the ASHP Statement on Use of Social Media by Pharmacy Professionals.


Six ASHP Members Receive 2019 Distinguished Service Award [news release]. Las Vegas, NV. December 10, 2019: ASHP Midyear 2019 website. Accessed December 10, 2019.

Related Videos
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.