Army MAJ Jeffrey Neigh Named 2011 Next-Generation Pharmacist

Pharmacy Times and Parata Systems Recognize Pharmacy's Finest


Contact: Bea Riemschneider, Editorial Director, (609) 716-7777


Pharmacy Timesand Parata Systems Recognize Pharmacy’s Finest

DURHAM, N.C.— Aug. 31, 2011 Eleven pharmacy professionals received honors at the second annual Next-Generation Pharmacist™ awards, this year held at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum in Boston on August 29. The event recognized individuals who are defining the future of pharmacy.

MAJ Jeffrey Neigh, PharmD, BCPS, was named the 2011 Next-Generation Pharmacist, the program’s overall annual honor. Neigh was recognized for his tremendous dedication to advancing the pharmacy industry through his tireless work ethic and uncompromising commitment to his patients and his country. MAJ Neigh, deputy chief of pharmacy at Eisenhower Army Medical Center in Fort Gordon, Ga., was also awarded the title of “Military Pharmacist of the Year”—a recent addition to the 2011 program. MAJ Neigh is currently beginning full-time study toward master’s degrees in business administration and healthcare administration.

The Next-Generation Pharmacist awards ceremony also saluted pharmacists in 10 additional categories including:

  • Civic Leader of the Year: John Forbes, RPh, Medicap Pharmacy, Urbandale, IO

  • Entrepreneur of the Year:Ken Fields, PharmD, ApproRx and Waynesville Pharmacy, Waynesville, OH

  • Future Pharmacist of the Year:Kyle Burcher, The University of Georgia College of Pharmacy, Athens, GA

  • Industry Advocate of the Year:Autumn Wells, PharmD, Family Drug, Inc., Big Stone Gap, VA

  • Lifetime Achievement:Whitaker Moose, Sr., BSPharm, Moose Drug Company, Mt. Pleasant, NC

  • Long-Term Care Pharmacist of the Year:Tina Fiebelkorn, BSPharm, Fiebelkorn Pharmacy Consulting Services, Getzville, NY

  • Patient Care Provider of the Year:Steffany Loper, PharmD, Kroger, Delaware, OH

  • Rising Star of the Year:Abby Caplan, PharmD, Kerr Health LLC of Kerr Drug, Inc., Zebulon, NC

  • Technician of the Year: Jeanne Li, CPhT, Independent Consultant, Elk Grove, CA

  • Technology Innovator of the Year:Diane Gatchell, RPh, Lawrence Family Health Center, Lawrence, MA

Winners are profiled on Pharmacy Times’ website,, and spotlighted in the August issue of the magazine, which was unveiled at the event. The 2011 Next-Generation Pharmacist, MAJ Neigh, is featured on the Pharmacy Times cover.

“We couldn’t be more proud to put a pharmacist like MAJ Neigh on the cover of our journal,” said Pharmacy Times Editor-in-Chief Fred Eckel, who chaired the select committee of judges. “All of the 2011 winners are more than deserving of the recognition for their dedication and attentiveness to patient care. They truly embody the ideals of the Next-Generation Pharmacist program.”

The 2011 program attracted hundreds of nominations of pharmacy’s best and brightest across 40 states. The winners represent a true cross-section of the pharmacy industry — from large chain retailers and independent pharmacies, to institutional facilities and long-term care operations.

“Now in its second year, the Next-Generation Pharmacist awards program has done a remarkable job at bringing well-deserved recognition to the outstanding contributions of dedicated pharmacists,” said Tom Rhoads, CEO of Parata Systems. “Honoring a group of such outstanding individuals in a prominent innovation hub like Boston was the perfect fit.”

The Next-Generation Pharmacist program was founded in 2010 by Pharmacy Times and Parata Systems to recognize exceptional pharmacy professionals. Sponsors of the 2011 program included Actavis, Catalyst Healthcare, DataLogic, Fougera, Kmart, Managed Health Care Associates, Inc., Novo Nordisk, Parata Financial, Rexam, and Upsher-Smith Laboratories.

Next year’s awards event will be held at the San Diego Zoo on Monday, Oct. 15, 2012. Nominations will open on February 1, 2012. For a recap of the 2011 event and information about next year’s Next-Generation Pharmacist program, please visit and and follow the program on Facebook and Twitter (@nextgenpharm).

About Pharmacy Times

Pharmacy Timesis a clinically based, monthly journal providing practical information pharmacists can use in their everyday practice. Each issue contains articles and features covering medication errors, drug interactions, patient education, pharmacy technology, disease state management, patient counseling, product news, pharmacy law, and specialty pharmacy. Pharmacy Times is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) as a provider of free continuing pharmacy education. Pharmacy Times can be found on Facebook at and on Twitter @Pharmacy_Times.

Pharmacy Timesis published by Intellisphere, LLC, a leading provider of health care publishing, research, information, and education. Operating within both traditional and digital media channels, Intellisphere serves the needs of health care professionals through an extensive suite of magazines, journals, e-mail databases, Web sites, events, and personal meetings.

Intellisphere reaches more than half a million health care professionals through Pharmacy Times, Specialty Pharmacy Times, The American Journal of Managed Care, The American Journal of Pharmacy Benefits, MD Magazine: Peers & Perspectives,, Oncology & Biotech News, OncLive, Contemporary Oncology, and OncNurse.

About Parata Systems

Durham, N.C.-based Parata Systems, LLC, was founded in 2001 and is the industry’s leading provider of pharmacy automation technology that improves safety, efficiency and customer experience. Next-generation Parata Max® and Parata Mini® automate prescription dispensing with the highest accuracy, speed and output available. Parata onePAC® customized unit- and multi-dose packaging improves safety and adherence for retail and long-term care patients and eases the demands of short-cycle dispensing. To learn more, call, click or visit Parata Systems,,, 1-888-PARATA1 (727-2821), Facebook (Parata Systems) and Twitter (paratasystems).