10 Award Winners Named at NCPA Annual Convention


The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) 2015 Annual Convention wrapped up today, but the following award winners can bask in their glory until the next NCPA conference in 2016.

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) 2015 Annual Convention wrapped up today, but the following award winners can bask in their glory until the next NCPA conference in 2016.

Here are the 10 members of the pharmacy community who were brought to the stage in Washington, DC.

Independent Pharmacist of the Year Award: Joseph Moose

Joe Moose, PharmD, co-owner of North Carolina-based Moose Pharmacy, received the Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year Award during the convention’s first general session.

This award is given to someone who shows exemplary leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy and his or her community, according to an NCPA press release.

“Joe Moose is at the forefront of efforts to make independent community pharmacies an integral part of a more coordinated and efficient health care delivery system,” said NCPA President John T. Sherrar, RPh, in the press release.

This isn’t the first time Dr. Moose has been in the spotlight. He was named the Next-Generation Pharmacist® (NGP) and NGP Entrepreneur of the Year in 2012.

Outstanding Adherence Practitioner Award: John Sykora

John Sykora, RPh, pharmacist and owner of Abrams and Clark for more than 30 years, won the Outstanding Adherence Practitioner Award for his long-term efforts to improve medication adherence.

NCPA highlighted Sykora’s medication synchronization business model, which was developed back in 1996.

Pharmacy Times previously reported that this program is aimed at managing patients’ prescriptions, workflow, inventory, billing, and hours of operation.

Sykora’s work has inspired medication synchronization programs such as NCPA’s Simplify My Meds.

Outstanding Adherence Educator Award: Jan Kavookjian

Jan Kavookjian, PhD, MBA, an associate professor at Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy, picked up the Outstanding Adherence Educator Award.

This award is given to educators who place a focus on medication adherence in curricula.

NCPA praised Dr. Kavookjian’s efforts to teach students using tools like role-playing in the classroom, where students are put into the shoes of patients who struggle with adherence.

Prescription Drug Safety Award: Brian Beach

Brian Beach, PharmD, RPh, FACA, vice president and director of long-term care services at Kelley-Ross Prescription Pharmacy in Washington, nabbed the Prescription Drug Safety Award.

NCPA recognized Dr. Beach for providing education on legitimate prescription drug use and the hazards of illegitimate prescription drug use.

“Regardless of whether opioid overdose results from illegal drug use or legal medication consumption, Brian believes that saving lives is the most important consideration, and that naloxone is the best available solution,” Sherrar said in a press release. “His efforts to make the drug more accessible in emergency situations in Seattle are working.”

Dr. Beach was also a finalist in the 2011 NGP Long-Term Care Pharmacist category.

National Preceptor of the Year Award: Laura Schwartzwald

Laura Schwartzwald, RPh, co-founder of GuidePoint Pharmacy, was awarded the National Preceptor of the Year Award.

NCPA applauded Schwartzwald’s 10 years of experience as a preceptor for 135 pharmacy students.

According to GuidePoint Pharmacy’s website, Schwartzwald has served as a preceptor for students from the University of Minnesota, North Dakota State University, and South Dakota State University.

Schwartzwald is a member of the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy and also serves on the University of Minnesota’s Committee on Experiential Practice.

John W. Dargavel Medal for Leadership, Service: John Carson

One of the 2 award-winners recognized for the John W. Dargavel Medal for Leadership and Service was John Carson, RPh, founder of Oakdell Pharmacy in San Antonio, Texas.

During his tenure as NCPA president from 2000 to 2001, Carson established the Special Committee on Innovation and Technology. NCPA also applauded Carson’s efforts to train pharmacists on how to provide pharmacist care services.

Carson is a past president and former board member of the Texas Pharmacy Association.

John W. Dargavel Medal for Leadership, Service: James H. Vincent

NCPA awarded the second medal to James H. Vincent posthumously, with his son Matt Vincent accepting the award onstage on his behalf.

Vincent, who was “instrumental in advocating to better safeguard the nation’s pharmacists from crime,” passed away in 2008.

Vincent opened Shop-All Inc in Colorado in 1959 and served as past president of what is now called the Colorado Pharmacists Society.

His alma mater, the University of Colorado School of Pharmacy, awarded him the Distinguished Service Award and now has a lecture hall named in his honor, NCPA noted.

NARD® Ownership Award: Frances Cohenour

The co-owner of Chad’s Payless Pharmacy and Singing River Healthcare Medical Clinic, Frances Cohenour, PharmD, won this year’s NARD® Ownership Award.

This award is given to an independent pharmacist who “embraces the entrepreneurial spirit through promotion and demonstrated excellence in the field of community pharmacy ownership,” according to NCPA.

Dr. Cohenour ushered in new initiatives at her pharmacy, including travel immunizations, biometric health screenings, and a diabetes education program.

She was also recently awarded the 2015 Excellence in Innovation Award from the Alabama Pharmacy Association.

Student Chapter of the Year Award: University of Texas at Austin

University of Texas at Austin was named Student Chapter of the Year thanks to the students’ commitment to their schools and communities, their work to promote independent community pharmacy, and their advocacy.

In addition to winning the Student Chapter of the Year Award, the University of Texas at Austin also won the Health and Wellness Challenge, which tested chapters on their level of engagement in legislative and patient outreach activities in their community, according to NCPA.

The runner-ups were East Tennessee State University and Auburn University, which won the NCPA Legislative Advocacy Challenge.

In addition, Washington State University won the NCPA Most Improved Chapter Award.

Faculty Liaison of the Year Award: Peter Tyczkowski

Coordinator of Educational Outreach at the University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy Peter Tyczkowski, RPh, MBA, won the Faculty Liaison of the Year Award.

NCPA praised Tyczkowski for helping the State Department of Social Services select 3 Medicare Part D prescription drug programs for more than 23,000 patients.

Tyczkowski was also commended for his efforts to train students to assist patients choosing Affordable Care Act health plans in Connecticut.

Related Videos
Concept of health care, pharmaceutical business, drug prices, pharmacy, medicine and economics | Image Credit: Oleg - stock.adobe.com
Image credit: rawpixel.com | stock.adobe.com
Medical team -- Image credit: Flamingo Images | stock.adobe.com
Semaglutide Ozempic injection control blood sugar levels | Image Credit: myskin - stock.adobe.com
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.