Several people were honored this week at Baxter Healthcare Corporation’s Leadership Excellence Awards in Pharmacy, or LEAP, ceremony.

An award program started in 2010, the awards recognize best demonstrated practices and case studies designed to improve pharmacy processes, efficiencies and outcomes in: drug preparation and delivery, pharmacy operations, and pharmacy management.
The winners were as follows:
Gold Award Winner: Next Step in Antibiotic Stewardship: Pharmacist Provided Penicillin Allergy Testing, Maury Regional Medical Center, Columbia, TN. Submitted by:
  • Zina Gugkaeva, PharmD
  • Jeff Binkley, PharmD, BCNSP, FASHP
  • Erika Hasford, PharmD, BCPS
Silver Award Winner: Engaging the C-Suite in the Utility of DoseEdge (Pharmacy Workflow Manager), Allegheny General Hospital, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Submitted by:
  • Laura Mark, PharmD., MS
  • Karly Dancsecs, PharmD.
  • Linda Wieloch, PharmD.
  • Janet Misko, RPh
  • Nilofar Jafari, PharmD.
Bronze Award Winner: Utilizing Lean Methodology and Radiofrequency Identification Technology (RFID) to Improve the Hospital Crash Cart Process, Mercy St. Rita's Medical Center, Lima, Ohio. Submitted by:
  • Lisa Brady PharmD.
  • Amber Walker PharmD.
Honorable Mention Award Winner: Scheduled Medication Administration Times- “Giving Nurses the Gift of Time, Peninsula Regional Medical Center, Salisbury, Maryland. Submitted by:
  • Valarie Hoffman, PharmD.
  • Dennis Killian, PharmD, PhD