NCPA Elects New Officers and Board Members, Adopts New Resolutions

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) named new officers and a Board of Directors for 2011-2012 at its annaul convention, which was held last month in Nashville, Tennessee. These individuals, all of whom are practicing pharmacists, are the association’s governing body, which represents the voice of the members and direct the association’s objectives.

The convention marked the beginning of the one-year term for new NCPA president, Lonny Wilson, DPh, of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. A graduate of Southwestern Oklahoma State University School of Pharmacy, Wilson is currently CEO of Pharmacy Providers of Oklahoma (PPOk). He has 30 years of experience in community pharmacy and currently owns and operates three pharmacies in eastern Oklahoma County. In addition, Wilson serves as Chairman of Mirixa, a developer of innovative clinical solutions that facilitate pharmacist-based patient care services such as medication therapy management.

According to NCPA CEO B. Douglas Hoey, RPh, MBA, Wilson “has been a tireless advocate for helping better position independent community pharmacies, with their focus on providing numerous patient care services, for the future. Part of those efforts also requires pushing state and federal officials to implement common-sense policies that level the playing field,” he noted.

“Community pharmacists play a vital role in improving health outcomes while reducing costs,” said Wilson, noting that local pharmacists facilitate the appropriate use of lower-cost generic drugs by dispensing 20% more generic drugs than mail-order facilities, while also providing face-to-face patient counseling on the proper use of medications.

“These small business health professionals also serve as pillars of the community and contribute greatly to local jobs and tax revenue,” Wilson added. “Independent community pharmacists are particularly vital in a number of underserved rural and inner-city areas, where they may be the only pharmacy option and health care resource for many miles around.”

NCPA's House of Delegates also passed several resolutions to guide the association policy and initiatives. The resolutions cover the following areas:

  • Opposing the merger of 2 of the 3 largest pharmacy benefit managers (PBMs), Express Scripts Inc. and Medco Health Solutions;
  • Pressing the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) to conclude its multi-year investigation with sufficient corrective action with regards to the unfair business practices of the merged PBM and retail chain pharmacy, CVS Caremark;
  • Supporting a coordinated federal and state approach to investigating and prosecuting pharmacy crime with stronger penalties, along with federal incentives for pharmacies to purchase security technologies to deter pharmacy crime and working with law enforcement to find solutions that will deter such crimes from happening in the first place; and
  • Making medication adherence a focus for addressing this costly problem by encouraging the development of curricula in pharmacy schools, in current pharmacy practices, and through advocacy with payers, policy makers, and legislators ensure that pharmacists are appropriately compensated for their valuable services.

In addition, the following independent community pharmacy owners were designated to the following positions:

Board of Directors

  • President — Lonny Wilson, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  • President-Elect — Donnie Calhoun, Anniston, Alabama
  • Chairman — Mark Riley, Little Rock, Arkansas
  • John Sherrer, Marietta, Georgia
  • Bradley Arthur, Buffalo, New York
  • Keith Hodges, Gloucester, Virginia
  • DeAnn Mullins, Lynn Haven, Florida
  • David Smith, Indiana, Pennsylvania
  • Immediate Past President — Robert J. Greenwood, Waterloo, Iowa


  • First Vice President — Bill Osborn, Miami, Oklahoma
  • Second Vice President — Brian Caswell, Baxter Springs, Kansas
  • Third Vice President — Michele Belcher, Grants Pass, Oregon
  • Fourth Vice President — Hugh Chancy, Hahira, Georgia
  • Fifth Vice President — Jeff Carson, San Antonio, Texas


114th NCPA Annual Convention and Trade Exposition is scheduled for October 13 to 17, 2012 at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego, California.