APhA Announces Results of 2015 Board of Trustees Election


The American Pharmacists Association today announced the election of Nancy A. Alvarez, PharmD, BCPS, FAPhA, of Lake Forest, CA, as 2016"2017 APhA President-elect.


WASHINGTON, DC — The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) today announced the election of Nancy A. Alvarez, PharmD, BCPS, FAPhA, of Lake Forest, CA, as 2016—2017 APhA President-elect. Alvarez will succeed Jean-Venable “Kelly” R. Goode, of Richmond, VA, to the office of APhA President on March 27, 2017, at the conclusion of the 2017 APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition in San Francisco.

Also elected to serve a three-year term on APhA’s Board of Trustees, beginning in March 2016, are Daniel Zlott, PharmD, BCOP, of Lovettsville, VA, and Daniel E. Buffington, PharmD, MBA, FAPhA, of Tampa, FL. Elected as 2016—2017 Honorary President was Jean Paul Gagnon, PhD, of Pittstown, NJ. All officers will be installed at the 163rd APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition in Baltimore, March 4—7, 2016.

Nancy A. Alvarez, PharmD, BCPS, FAPhA, is Assistant Dean, Experiential Education and Continuing Professional Development, and Assistant Professor at Chapman University School of Pharmacy. She previously served as Senior Director, Medical Information, at Endo Health Solutions and has held positions in hospice/palliative care and community practice. She is a graduate of the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy (UA COP). Alvarez is currently serving her second term on the APhA Board of Trustees and sits on the board of the Pharmacy Leadership and Education Institute (PLEI). She has held numerous elected and appointed positions, including APhA—ASP National Member-at-Large, Phi Lambda Sigma National President, Member of the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board’s Certification Council and Phi Delta Chi Grand Vice President for Collegiate Affairs. Alvarez is a member of the California Pharmacists Association and participates in leader development as a facilitator, content developer and pro­gram director. She also established an APhA Foundation Student Pharmacist Scholarship, first awarded in 2013. She has been recognized by the Arizona Pharmacy Association as the Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year and the Employee Pharmacist of the Year and has received the PLEI Prescott Leadership Award, the APhA Good Government Pharmacist-of-the-Year Award, and the APhA–APPM Distinguished Achievement Award in Administrative Practice. Alvarez has been recognized as an APhA Fellow, and she received the UA COP Jack R. Cole Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Daniel Zlott, PharmD, BCOP, is a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist working with the National Cancer Institute’s Surgery, Endocrine Oncology, and Thoracic/GI Malignancy Branches at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). He is also the Director of the NIH PGY2 Oncology Pharmacy Residency Program and a clinical investigator on 35 NCI-sponsored clinical trials, exam­ining new and innovative ways to treat cancer. He is a graduate of the University of California San Francisco and completed his PGY1 Pharmacy Practice Residency there before moving to the NIH, where he completed his PGY2 Oncology Pharmacy Residency. Zlott has been highly active within APhA since he was a student, having served in a number of positions within APhA—ASP, includ­ing National President. He has previous experience on the APhA Board of Trustees, the Strategic Directions Committee, the House Rules Review Committee and as Chair of the Policy Review Committee. Zlott currently serves as a Member-at-Large for the APhA–APPM Executive Committee. In addition to his work with APhA, he has also held several committee positions with the Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy Association. Zlott is passionate about educating student pharmacists and residents, and his major goals are to increase awareness of oncology across the pharmacy profession and to contribute, in some small way, to the incredible work that continues to advance the profession of pharmacy.

Daniel E. Buffington, PharmD, MBA, FAPhA, is President and Founder of Clinical Pharmacology Services, an ambulatory care practice. He is on fac­ulty with the University of South Florida Colleges of Medicine and Pharmacy and serves as a Fellow with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), focusing on initiatives related to medication safety and medication therapy management. He currently serves on the APhA Board of Trustees and the Florida Pharmacy Foundation’s board, and he previously served as President of both the Florida Society of Health-System Pharmacists (FSHP) and the American Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences. He represents APhA on the Pharmacy HIT Collaborative Advisory Work Group and serves on the American Medical Association Current Procedural Terminology Panel, the national medical billing coding panel. Buffington has practice experience in ambulatory care, drug information, hospital, managed care, clinical research, health informa­tion technology and forensic pharmacology and toxicology. He received his PharmD and MBA degrees from Mercer University and completed a residency and clinical pharmacology fellowship at Emory University. Buffington has been recognized as an APhA Fellow and has received the APhA Foundation Pinnacle Award, the APhA Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award, the ASHP Award of Excellence and the FSHP Pharmacist of the Year Award.

Jean Paul Gagnon, PhD, retired as Senior Director of U.S. Policy and Strategic Advocacy for Sanofi US after 22 years of service. He previously served as Assistant Professor at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy and Professor/Division Head of Pharmacy Administration at the University of North Carolina School of Pharmacy. Gagnon was also a Robert Wood Johnson Health Policy Fellow and Committee Staffer for Representative Edward Madigan, the Minority Chairman of the House Energy and Commerce’s Subcommittee on Health. He received his BSPharm and MS from the University of Connecticut and his PhD in pharmacy administration from The Ohio State University. Gagnon has served in a number of elected positions, including Board member and President of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy; Treasurer of APhA; Treasurer and Board of Trust member for the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention; and Founder, Board member, President and Treasurer of the International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research. He received the APhA—APRS Research Achievement Award in Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences, the APhA Hugo H. Schaefer Award, and the Sanofi-Aventis Pinnacle Award.

Related Videos
Pharmacy Drugstore Checkout Cashier Counter: Beautiful Female Pharmacist Scans Barcode and Handsome Young Man Talks to a Cashier and Pays for the Health Care Products at the Checkout Counter - Image credit: Gorodenkoff | stock.adobe.com
Image Credit: Adobe Stock - nataliaderiabina
Credit: Adobe Stock - Tierney
ipopba - stock.adobe.com
lexiconimages - stock.adobe.com
Yaruniv-Studio - stock.adobe.com
Medical hands holds syringe and vaccine | Image Credit: Alernon77 -stock.adobe.com
Related Content
© 2023 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.