Announcing the 2011 Next-Generation Pharmacist Finalists


With its most recent announcement, the Next-Generation Pharmacist™ program salutes 34 pharmacy professionals who are defining the future of pharmacy.

Pharmacy Times and Parata systems are pleased to announce the finalists in the second annual Next-Generation Pharmacist Awards program! These 34 finalists are leaders and role models in their communities, and represent pharmacy at its best in 11 different categories.

Civic Leader of the Year:

Peter Crouch, BSPharm, Eden Drug, Eden, NC

John Forbes, RPh, Medicap Pharmacy, Urbandale, IA

John Gotowko, RPh, MS, MBA, FASCP, Wende Correctional Facility, Alden, NY

Entrepreneur of the Year:

Ken Fields, PharmD, ApproRx and Waynesville Pharmacy, Waynesville, OH

Doug Kaleugher, BSPharm, Med-Fast Pharmacy, Aliquippa, PA

Michael Schwartzwald, RPh, GuidePoint Pharmacy, Brainerd, MN

Future Pharmacist of the Year:

Kyle Burcher, The University of Georgia College of Pharmacy, Athens, GA

Gina M. Pettineo, Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy, Fort Lauderdale, FL

Edward Saito, Creighton University, Omaha, NE

Industry Advocate of the Year:

Anthony Brooklere, RPh, Adamsville Pharmacy, Adamsville, AL

Jerry Kaup, RPh, Kaup Pharmacy, Fort Recovery, OH

Autumn Wells, PharmD, Family Drug, Inc., Big Stone Gap, VA

Lifetime Achievement:

Stephen Giroux, RPh, Middlepoint Family Health Center, Middleport, NY

Steven Judy, RPh, Judy's Drug Store, Petersburg, WV

Whitaker Moose, Sr., BSPharm, Moose Drug Company, Mt. Pleasant, NC

Gianna Talone-Sullivan, PharmD, Mission of Mercy, Frederick, MD

Long-Term Care Pharmacist of the Year:

Mark Adler, RPh, Adler's Pharmacy, Sicklerville, NJ

Brian Beach, PharmD, FACA, Kelley-Ross Prescription Pharmacy, Seattle, WA

Tina L. Fiebelkorn, BSPharm, Fiebelkorn Pharmacy Consulting Services, Getzville, NY

Military Pharmacist of the Year:

Major Jeffrey Neigh, PharmD, BCPS, Eisenhower Army Medical Center, Fort Gordon, GA

Major Jessica Spitler, PharmD, MBA, Patrick Air Force Base, Patrick Air Force Base, FL

Lieutenant Colonel Gwendolyn Thompson, RPh, MPA, PharmD, BCPS, Fort Hood, Fort Hood, TX

Patient Care Provider of the Year:

Traci Brooks, PharmD, Womack Army Medical Center, Fort Bragg, NC

Steffany Loper, PharmD, Kroger, Delaware, OH

Justin Wilson, PharmD, Valu-Med Pharmacy, Midwest City, OK

Rising Star of the Year:

Abby Caplan, PharmD, Kerr Health LLC of Kerr Drug, Inc., Zebulon, NC

Lieutenant Vince Deguzman, PharmD, MBA, US Naval Hospital Guam, Agana, Guam

Nick Patterson, PharmD, Blanchfield Army Community Hospital, Fort Campbell, KY

Technician of the Year:

Amy Haines, CPhT, Bradley Drug, Nashville, TN

Jennifer Jelinek, CPhT, J&D Pharmacy, Warsaw, MO

Jeanne Li, CPhT, Independent Consultant, Elk Grove, CA

Technology Innovator of the Year:

Diane Gatchell, RPh, Lawrence Family Health Center, Lawrence, MA

Chris Geronsin, RPh, Beverly Hills Pharmacy, St. Louis, MO

Vincent Venitelli, BSPharm, UCONN Correctional Managed Health Care, Farmington, CT

Hailing from 23 states and Guam, this year's talented group of finalists and their families will be invited to the 2011 Next-Generation Pharmacist™ Awards program, a special event being held at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library & Museum in Boston on August 29, 2011, concurrent with the National Association of Chain Drug Stores Pharmacy & Technology conference. One winner will be named the 2011 Next-Generation Pharmacist, the program's top honor

New award categories this year include “Military Pharmacist,” awarded to an active duty or reserve military pharmacist who operates within a branch of the United States armed forces, and “Long-Term Care Pharmacist,” awarded to a pharmacist who excels in providing pharmacy services to skilled nursing facilities, assisted living communities, continuing care retirement centers, and other long-term care organizations.

About the Program

The Next-Generation Pharmacist Awards are open to licensed pharmacists practicing in all environments, including chain, community, hospital outpatient, and government settings, as well as technicians and student pharmacists in 2 special categories.

You can find more information about the Next-Generation Pharmacist™ Program at To download a PDF of the nomination form, click here. You can also find us on Facebook!

Related Videos
Laboratory test tubes and solution with stethoscope background | Image Credit: Shutter2U -
Image credit: Andrea Izzotti
Inflation Reduction Act is shown using the text and the US flag - Image credit: Andrii |
Pharmacy Interior | Image Credit: Tyler Olson -
Male pharmacist selling medications at drugstore to a senior woman customer | Image Credit: Zamrznuti tonovi -
Pharmacist assists senior woman in buying medicine in pharmacy - Image credit: Drazen |
Pharmacy, medicine and senior woman consulting pharmacist on prescription. Healthcare, shopping and elderly female in consultation with medical worker for medication box, pills or product in store - Image credit: C Daniels/ |
Image credit: fidaolga -
Pharmacists checking inventory at hospital pharmacy- Image credit: Jacob Lund |
Young male pharmacist giving prescription medications to senior female customer in a pharmacy | Image Credit: Zamrznuti tonovi -
© 2023 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.