The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Board of Directors’ Honorary Membership Award was presented to Dr Henri Manasse and to Dr Sara White at the 2019 Summer Meetings in Boston. The award honors outstanding individuals who have made major contributions to pharmacy practice.1-2

Manasse was given the award for his years of work in improving patient safety and in promoting pharmacists’ contributions in medication error prevention and safe medication use. He served as Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of ASHP from 1997 to 2011, during which time he grew ASHP membership, educational conferences, and publishing. He is now professor and Dean Emeritus at the University of Illinois at Chicago, College of Pharmacy.1

Manasse has also served as President of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, as well as on the FDA Drug Safety and Risk Management Advisory Committee. He has received honorary Doctor of Science degrees from 8 institutions. He has received multiple awards, including the Joseph A. Oddis Award for Exceptional Service to the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP), and the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award from ASHP.1

White, also a past recipient of the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award, served as ASHP President from 1996 to 1997. Before her retirement in 2003, White worked 11 years as Pharmacy Director at Stanford Hospital and Clinics, and 20 years as Associate Director of Pharmacy at the University of Kansas Medical Center.2

Since her retirement, White has focused much of her attention on the pharmacy industry’s leaders, including concerns around the shortage of young leaders and the impact of changes to pharmacy school curricula. She has co-edited the Letters series of books, which offer advice to young pharmacists; curated a video series with influential leaders of the pharmaceuticals field; and has hosted a podcast series on women in pharmacy leadership.2

  1. ASHP Awards Honorary Membership to Henri Manasse [press release]. Bethesda, MD; 2019: ASHP website. Accessed June 11, 2019.
  2. ASHP Awards Honorary Membership to Sara White [press release]. Bethesda, MD; 2019: ASHP website. Accessed June 11, 2019.