Next-Generation Pharmacist Videos Part II

Published Online: Tuesday, February 19, 2013
Follow Pharmacy_Times:
Nominate a deserving pharmacist for the 2013 Next-Generation PharmacistTM Awards, and watch videos of 6 winners from 2012.

Nominations are now open for the 2013 Next-Generation PharmacistTM Awards, presented by Pharmacy Times and Parata Systems. To nominate a hard-working, inspiring pharmacist, tech, or pharmacy student who exemplifies what the pharmacy profession can and should be, go to The deadline for entries is April 15, 2013, and nominations can be submitted directly from the website or printed out and sent in via mail.
As we look forward to this year’s awards, which will be presented at a special gala dinner event held at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on Sunday, August 11, 2013, concurrent with the National Association of Chain Drug Stores’ Total Store Expo, we honor our 2012 awardees. Scroll down to see videos of the winners in the following categories:
  • Next-Generation Pharmacist
  • Rising Star of the Year
  • Technology Innovator of the Year
  • Patient Care Provider of the Year
  • Long-Term Care Pharmacist of the Year
  • Technician of the Year
2012 Next-Generation Pharmacist: Joseph Moose

Joseph Moose, PharmD, pharmacist manager of Moose Pharmacy in Concord, NC, and winner of the 2012 Entrepreneur of the Year award, was chosen from among the winners of the other 9 Next-Generation Pharmacist award categories to receive the program’s top honor: Next-Generation Pharmacist. Dr. Moose is a fourth-generation pharmacist who emphasizes medication therapy management (MTM) services and patient counseling. To read more about him, click here.

2012 Rising Star of the Year: Zachary Marcum

Zachary Marcum, PharmD, is a researcher and associate professor at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine's Division of Geriatrics, where he creates new avenues of care by combining his pharmacy expertise with the world of clinical medicine and research. To read more about Dr. Marcum, click here.

2012 Technology Innovator of the Year: Stephen Vogt
Stephen Vogt, PharmD, is owner of BioPlus Specialty Pharmacy in Altamonte Springs, FL, where he endeavors to create personalized treatment strategies for each patient. To read more about Dr. Vogt, click here.

2012 Patient Care Provider of the Year: Marty Feltner
Marty Feltner, PharmD, of Kohll's Pharmacy and Homecare in Omaha, NE, has emphasized expanding patient coverage with vaccines and implemented Nebraska's first international travel vaccine clinic in 2006, which Kohll's then expanded to other locations. To read more about Dr. Feltner, click here.

2012 Long-Term Care Pharmacist of the Year: Bent Gay
Bent Gay, BSPharm, is owner of Gayco Healthcare in Dublin, GA, which serves more than 50 locations that include skilled nursing, hospice, and correctional institutions. To read more about Gay, click here.

Related Articles
Do you know a student pharmacist who demonstrates extraordinary spirit and passion for the profession? Nominate him or her for the Next-Generation PharmacistTM 2015 Future Pharmacist award.
As the role of the pharmacist continues to expand to meet the health care needs of patients nationwide, Parata Systems and Pharmacy Times are gearing up for the sixth annual program recognizing outstanding pharmacists, technicians, student pharmacists and industry advocates. The NextGeneration Pharmacist™, the industry’s leading national awards program, begins accepting nominations today for these prestigious awards.
The 6th annual Next-Generation PharmacistTM awards program, presented by Pharmacy Times in collaboration with Parata Systems, is now open for nominations.
Latest Issues
  • photo
    Pharmacy Times
    Health-System Edition
    Directions in Pharmacy
    OTC Guide
    Generic Supplements
  • photo
    Pharmacy Careers
    Specialty Pharmacy Times