Published Online: Tuesday, July 1, 2008

The National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation recently awarded $256,000 in scholarship support shared by all 102 colleges and schools of pharmacy. All of the schools received scholarships ranging from $1000 to $25,000.

In a random drawing for the largest awards, the 3 university winners were:

  • Oregon State University College of Pharmacy received the $25,000 Wayne Roberts Memorial Scholarship contributed by Apotex Corp. The scholarship is a tribute to the late Wayne Roberts, Apotex director of trade and industry relations, who was instrumental in the development and growth of the Pharmacy Partners Scholarship Program.
  • Duquesne University Mylan School of Pharmacy received $15,000 contributed by Novo Nordisk Inc
  • University at Buffalo, The State University of New York School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences received $10,000 contributed by Wyeth Pharmaceuticals and Consumer Healthcare

The scholarship funds were distributed at the Pharmacy Partners Scholarship Program and Reception Dinner during the recent NACDS Annual Meeting.

Latest Articles
In case you got caught up in the Thanksgiving holiday rush, here are the top trending stories you may have missed in November:
Bryan Ziegler, PharmD, executive director of Kennedy Pharmacy Innovation Center, provides some resources for community pharmacists to use when implementing new collaborative services with primary care providers.
James Schiffer, RPh, associate at Allegaert Berger & Vogel LLC, discusses some tips for pharmacists who are facing a Drug Enforcement Administration audit.
Carlos Aquino, founder and president of PharmaDiversion LLC, talks about the importance of the Drug Enforcement Administration's (DEA) diversion website.
Latest Issues