Published Online: Monday, January 1, 2007

IN 2006, PHARMACY TIMES AND WAL-MART established an elite award, known as the RESPy Award, to be given to a pharmacy student who has made a difference in his or her community by demonstrating excellence in pharmaceutical care. Some criteria on which the pharmacy student is selected for this honor include:

  • Demonstration of voluntary public service activities
  • Demonstration of a high level of professional/public health-related activities outside the classroom
  • Demonstration of a high level of effort to advance the profession of pharmacy in the public arena

We would like to congratulate the 6 students who were selected as RESPy winners in 2006. Their achievements and successes have truly made a difference in the field of pharmacy!


University of Louisiana at Monroe College of Pharmacy

Candace Thibodeaux, a third-year pharmacy student from Lake Arthur, La, was awarded the very first RESPy Award in May 2006. She was one of many pharmacy students who felt helpless as she watched media coverage of the devastation caused by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita in southern Louisiana and the Gulf Coast region. Because of her innate desire to serve, however, through her supervisor at the Monroe, La,Wal-Mart Pharmacy, she volunteered her services by helping evacuees at the Monroe Civic Center and proved herself a leader in this time of need.


University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy

Mandy Billingsley received the RESPy Award in June 2006.Mandy was given this honor because of the characteristics she embodied that every pharmacy student needs to prepare for a life of service to patients. She excelled in the classroom, was involved in a multitude of professional activities, and was a model of professionalism and respect for others.


University of Florida College of Pharmacy

Sheena Khirsukhani was chosen as the RESPy Award winner in September 2006 because of her enthusiastic volunteerism and excellence in scholastic achievement. As president of a service fraternity, she served as a committee chairperson for the Breast Cancer Survivor Baskets program at Baptist Hospital in Jacksonville, Fla, and worked on the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation 5K race, which raises money for breast cancer research. She also was listed on the Dean's Honor Roll each semester and exhibits leadership in the pharmacy program.


University of Toledo College of Pharmacy

In October 2006, Andrea Pallotta was chosen as the RESPy Award winner, because "volunteerism defines Andrea's true passion," as was summarized in her nomination letter. Through her involvement in Alpha Zeta Omega Pharmaceutical Fraternity, she helped implement a program designed to encourage student involvement in volunteerism in the community. She also volunteered her time during spring break to work with an organization whose goal is to end world hunger and poverty through self-reliance. In 2006, during spring break, she showed excellent leadership skills when she served as student coordinator while helping to clean up a devastated town after Hurricane Katrina.


University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy

Lauren Hynicka, a fourth-year student at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy, earned the RESPy Award in November 2006. A self-starter, Lauren had an "impressive capacity to maintain a high academic standing while balancing her leadership in school and professional organizations, as well as community service initiatives," according to her nomination letter from the dean. She energetically volunteered to help a member of the faculty in a program designed to assist the homeless in Pittsburgh. She was also a member of the Paul Ambrose Scholars program.


University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy

Kacee Vogt was chosen as the December 2006 RESPy winner because of her strong dedication to volunteerism and her scholastic excellence. She helped clean up debris after a hurricane in Port Arthur, Tex; assisted in the construction of a church building in Juarez, Mexico; sifted through debris for salvageable items after a tornado in Cordell, Okla; and participated in many other volunteer efforts. She also maintained a 4.0 grade point average at the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy, for which she received the college's most prestigious award, the Mosier Scholar Award.

Latest Issues