2019 AACP New Investigator Awards

Pharmacy Careers, Pharmacy Careers Winter 2019, Volume 13, Issue 1

These grants provide funding for independent research programs of early-career pharmacy faculty.

The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) is providing grants of up to $10,000 to each of 16 New Investigator Award (NIA) winners.1,2 Announced in February 2019, these grants provide funding for independent research programs of early-career pharmacy faculty.1

According to the AACP, the NIA grants are intended to be the first extramural research funding received by a faculty member as a principal investigator. It is the goal of the AACP that each grant provide a foundation for future scholarly endeavors and continued extramural funding success.1

In addition to the research grants, each NIA winner is receiving a $1000 travel award from the AACP to go toward presenting findings at the organization’s annual meeting. This year’s meeting will be held from July 18 to 22, at the Long Beach Convention & Entertainment Center in Long Beach, California.1


  • Marie Barnard, The University of Mississippi, Preparing Pharmacists to Care for Patients Exposed to Intimate Partner Violence
  • Tarsis Brust, Palm Beach Atlantic University, Inhibitors of Type 1 Adenylyl Cyclase as Novel Pain Therapeutics
  • Li Chen, Auburn University, Machine Learning Methods to Evaluate Safety and Efficacy of FDA-Approved Orphan Drugs
  • Sherif Elshahawi, Chapman University, Generation of Lipopeptide Analogs Using Biocatalytic Methods
  • Kirk E. Evoy, The University of Texas at Austin, Gabapentinoid Abuse Prevalence
  • Jason Guy, University of Findlay, Co-curricular Drug Information Organization’s Impact on IPE Outcomes
  • Robert H. Hilgers, Campbell University, Thioredoxin Improves Endothelium-Dependent Vasorelaxation in Obese Mice
  • Vaibhav Mundra, Manchester University, Formulation of Micelles for Co-delivery of Bortezomib and Doxorubicin
  • Amy L. Pasternak, University of Michigan, Defining the Pharmacogenetic Associations for CYP3A5 and IV Tacrolimus
  • Ryan M. Pearson, University of Maryland, Programming Immune Cell Sensitivity Towards Toll-like Receptor Agonists
  • Vitor H. Pomin, The University of Mississippi, Potential Cardiovascular Therapeutics From the Sea
  • Sujith Ramachandran, The University of Mississippi, Overcoming Defensive Responding in the Estimation of Prescription Stimulant Misuse
  • Aurijit Sarkar, High Point University, Towards Targeting Antibiotic Resistant Staphylococcus aureus
  • Jason A. Sprowl, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York, Regulation of SGLT1 Function by Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitors
  • David R. Steeb, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Development and Assessment of Entrustable Professional Activities for Global Health
  • Benjamin Y. Urick, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Pharmacy Owner Perceptions of Performance-Based Payment Models


  • New investigator award. AACP website. websiteaacp.org/resource/newinvestigator-award. Accessed March 5, 2019.
  • Current and past new investigator award recipients. AACP website. websiteaacp.org/resource/current-and-past-new-investigator-award-recipients. Accessed March 5, 2019.