The Reinvented Pharmacist

How to Run a Useful Meeting
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Before you call your next meeting, consider these 7 suggestions.
Should Drug Approval Decisions Consider Cost?
Monday, July 6, 2015
A newly approved cystic fibrosis drug has an annual wholesale cost of $259,000.
Will Specialty Drug Prices Increase Health Care Inflation?
Thursday, July 2, 2015
There has been a lot of talk about rising specialty drug prices and how they will affect health care costs.
Decline in Mail-Order Dispensing Opens Opportunity for Drugstores
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Revised IMS Health data depict where prescriptions are being dispensed across the community pharmacy setting.
Will the Pharmacy Bubble Really Burst?
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
So far, the market has absorbed the increasing number of pharmacy graduates, but some wonder when the pharmacy bubble will burst.
Is the Marketplace the Best Tool to Decide Drug Prices?
Monday, June 1, 2015
More and more news headlines seem to focus on high drug prices, as many stakeholders are speaking out about the issue.
Gross Profit Margin Increasing for Independent Pharmacies, Census Data Suggest
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Census data suggest independent pharmacies continue to do well.
Point-of-Care Tests in Pharmacies Could Expand Pharmacist Roles
Friday, May 22, 2015
Point-of-care tests could help the local community pharmacy become a neighborhood health center.
Are Painkillers Overprescribed to Older Patients?
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Is pain really the biggest health problem elderly patients experience?
Biosimilar Dispensing: A Potential Public Policy Problem
Friday, May 1, 2015
I hope the pharmacy industry doesn't have to engage in another state-by-state effort to allow the dispensing of appropriate biosimilar products.
Solving the Prescription Painkiller Abuse Problem
Friday, May 1, 2015
New research validates what pharmacists believe to be true: several disconnects remain in the prescribing and use of opioids.
Stopping Tobacco Sales Makes Good Business Sense
Friday, April 24, 2015
CVS Health's decision to remove tobacco products from pharmacies did make good business sense.
Pharmacists Needed in Executive Roles
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Why aren't pharmacists considered clinicians who can take on executive roles?
"Second Victims" of Fatal Errors in Pharmacy
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
I'm not familiar with the term "second victim," but I am familiar with the problem it describes.
Forecasting Pharmacy's Future
Monday, March 23, 2015
Knowing what the experts think will happen in the future can help us better prepare for it.