Pharmacytimes: Condition Center: http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/rems/condition-rss en-us Mon, 06 Jul 2015 10:18:34 UTC Mon, 06 Jul 2015 10:18:34 UTC Evolution of the Pharmacist's Role http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/evolution-of-the-pharmacists-role Anne Burns RPh Vice President of Professional Affairs at the American Pharmacists Association talks how the pharmacist's role has evolved. Mon, 06 Jul 2015 07:00:00 UTC Virtual Clinic Benefits Community Pharmacies http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/virtual-clinic-benefits-community-pharmacies A virtual clinic launched by 1-800-Pharmacy and the Independent Pharmacy Cooperative aims to assist pharmacists at independent community pharmacies. Mon, 06 Jul 2015 05:41:00 UTC Man Arrested for Burning CVS in Baltimore Riot http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/man-arrested-for-burning-cvs-in-baltimore-riot Police say they have caught the man responsible for burning down the Baltimore CVS during the Freddie Gray riots. Mon, 06 Jul 2015 01:00:00 UTC Financial Incentives for Pharmacists to Approve Quality of Care http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/financial-incentives-for-pharmacists-to-approve-quality-of-care Anne Burns RPh Vice President of Professional Affairs at the American Pharmacists Association talks about the financial incentives pharmacists have to approve quality of care. Sun, 05 Jul 2015 07:00:00 UTC Medicaid Violations Hinder Hepatitis C Drug Access http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/medicaid-violations-hinder-hepatitis-c-drug-access Many states implement unlawful and life-threatening restrictions on Medicaid coverage for the hepatitis C virus drug, sofosbuvir. Sat, 04 Jul 2015 08:00:00 UTC Expected Changes for Pharmacists in Next Years http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/expected-changes-for-pharmacists-in-next-years Anne Burns RPh Vice President of Professional Affairs at the American Pharmacists Association talks about the changes that pharmacists can expect to see in the coming years. Sat, 04 Jul 2015 07:00:00 UTC Pharmacy Tech Sold Vicodin for Gas Money http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacy-tech-sold-vicodin-for-gas-money A Publix pharmacy technician has been fired and arrested after confessing to stealing Vicodin to pay for her gas money and other car expenses. Sat, 04 Jul 2015 02:00:00 UTC Effect of Health and Human Services Decision on Pharmacy http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/effect-of-health-and-human-services-decision-on-pharmacy Anne Burns, RPh, talks about the effect on pharmacy that the Department of Health and Human Services decision to tie reimbursement to quality will have. Fri, 03 Jul 2015 07:00:00 UTC How Community Pharmacists Improve Collaboration http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/how-community-pharmacists-improve-collaboration Anne Burns, RPh, vice president of professional affairs for the American Pharmacists Association, offers a few ideas as to how community pharmacists can improve collaboration. Thu, 02 Jul 2015 07:00:00 UTC Sustainable Health Care in Developing Nations http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/sustainable-healthcare-in-developing-nations Sarah Scoular, PharmD, BCPS, assistant professor at the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy, discusses some of the international work she has been involved in. Thu, 02 Jul 2015 04:00:00 UTC CVS Pharmacist Catches Prescription Fraud http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/cvs-pharmacist-catches-prescription-fraud A CVS pharmacist’s keen eye caught 2 men allegedly trying to pass off fake prescriptions, which led to their arrests. Thu, 02 Jul 2015 02:30:00 UTC Memory Tests Indicate Alzheimer’s 18 Years Before It Appears http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/memory-tests-indicate-alzheimers-18-years-before-it-appears Errors on brief memory tests can detect Alzheimer’s disease up to 18 years before dementia onset. Thu, 02 Jul 2015 01:00:00 UTC Permanent Injunction Issued Against Drug Manufacturing Company http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/permanent-injunction-issued-against-drug-manufacturing-company A federal judge has entered a consent decree of permanent injunction against a manufacturing company for marketing unapproved and misbranded prescription drugs. Thu, 02 Jul 2015 12:00:00 UTC Valuable Information about Transitions of Care Programs http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/Valuable-Information-about-Transitions-of-Care-Programs John Moorman, PharmD, BCPS, Pharmacist at Akron General Medical Center in Ohio discusses other valuable information about transitions of care programs. Wed, 01 Jul 2015 08:00:00 UTC Controversial Lethal Injection Drug Upheld by Supreme Court http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/controversial-lethal-injection-drug-upheld-by-supreme-court The Supreme Court has ruled to allow states to continue using the controversial lethal injection drug, midazolam. Wed, 01 Jul 2015 04:20:00 UTC Modern Pharmacist Still Misunderstood by Public http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/modern-pharmacist-still-misunderstood-by-public Sarah Scoular, PharmD, BCPS, talks about important information for the public to understand about pharmacy, in order to increase interest in the profession. Wed, 01 Jul 2015 04:00:00 UTC Track-and-Trace Law Enforcement Delayed by FDA http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/track-and-trace-law-enforcement-delayed-by-fda Track-and-trace requirements of the Drug Quality and Security Act (DQSA) will take effect tomorrow, but the FDA will not enforce the product tracing obligations for pharmacies until November. Tue, 30 Jun 2015 11:35:00 UTC Transition of Care Pilot Program http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/transition-of-care-pilot-program John Moorman, PharmD, BCPS, Pharmacist at Akron General Medical Center in Ohio discusses the transition of care pilot program at Akron General. Tue, 30 Jun 2015 08:00:00 UTC Role of Pharmacist Is Constantly Evolving http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/Role-of-Pharmacist-is-Constantly-Evolving Sarah Scoular, PharmD, BCPS, Assistant Professor at University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy talks about how the role of the pharmacist evolves over time. Tue, 30 Jun 2015 04:00:00 UTC Nonadherence to Lupus Treatment Heightens Hospital Admissions http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/nonadherence-to-lupus-treatment-heightens-hospital-admissions Many patients with systemic lupus erythematosus don’t adhere to their medications, leading to significantly more emergency department visits and hospital admissions. Tue, 30 Jun 2015 04:00:00 UTC