Pharmacytimes: Condition Center: http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/pneumococcal-disease/condition-rss en-us Tue, 28 Jul 2015 03:39:12 UTC Tue, 28 Jul 2015 03:39:12 UTC Colorado Pharmacists Cautious About Providing Naloxone http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/colorado-pharmacists-cautious-about-providing-naloxone Naloxone expanded-access provisions that recently took effect in Colorado practically push pharmacists to provide the opioid overdose antidote to anyone requesting it. Mon, 27 Jul 2015 06:15:00 UTC Great Diversity Found at Rutgers University http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/great-diversity-found-at-rutgers-university Alex Wei, Rutgers University Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy student, discusses why he chose to go to Rutgers. Mon, 27 Jul 2015 04:30:00 UTC 5 Weight-Loss Counseling Points for Pharmacists http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/5-weight-loss-counseling-points-for-pharmacists At the front lines of health care, pharmacists may be in a position to encourage obese patients to lose weight. Mon, 27 Jul 2015 01:00:00 UTC Antibiotics Still Overused for Viral Infections http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/antibiotics-still-overused-for-viral-infections As many as 1 in 10 health care providers prescribe antibiotics for almost every patient they see with a cold or bronchitis, despite the fact that antibiotics are not effective against these viral infections. Mon, 27 Jul 2015 12:00:00 UTC Improving Everyday Life Using Pharmacy Lessons http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/improving-everyday-life-through-school-teachings Blessy George, PharmD, PhD candidate in toxicology at Rutgers University discusses the most rewarding part of pharmacy school. Sun, 26 Jul 2015 06:30:00 UTC Effects of Global Pharmacy School Alliance http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/effects-of-global-pharmacy-school-alliance Stephen F. Eckel, PharmD, MHA, Pharmacy Times Health-System Edition editor and associate professor at the Eshelman School of Pharmacy at University of North Carolina, discusses the global pharmacy school alliance. Sun, 26 Jul 2015 06:00:00 UTC Biosimilar Substitution: A Primer for Pharmacists http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/biosimilar-substitution-a-primer-for-pharmacists With biosimilars set to enter the US health care market, pharmacists will soon have new factors to consider when selecting and dispensing products. Sun, 26 Jul 2015 02:00:00 UTC Be Patient in First Years of Pharmacy School http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/be-patient-in-first-years-of-pharmacy-school Paola Acevedo, Rutgers University Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy student, gives advice to students heading to pharmacy school. Sat, 25 Jul 2015 06:30:00 UTC Do Research Before Entering a Program http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/do-research-before-entering-a-program Blessy George, PharmD, PhD candidate in toxicology at Rutgers University gives advice to future pharmacy students. Sat, 25 Jul 2015 06:30:00 UTC Pharmacy Employee Pulls Gun to Stop Robber http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacy-employee-pulls-gun-to-stop-robber A pharmacy employee recently thwarted a theft by pointing a gun at the suspected robber. Sat, 25 Jul 2015 02:00:00 UTC The Challenge of Retaining Information http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/retaining-information-can-be-a-challenge Blessy George, PharmD, PhD candidate in toxicology at Rutgers University, discusses challenges in pharmacy school. Fri, 24 Jul 2015 06:30:00 UTC Pharmacists Can Be Found Working Behind the Scenes http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/pharmacists-can-be-found-working-behind-the-scenes Alex Wei, Rutgers University Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy student, discusses some misconceptions in pharmacy. Fri, 24 Jul 2015 04:30:00 UTC Pharmacy Compounding Missouri Lethal Injections Must Be Publicized http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacy-compounding-missouri-lethal-injections-must-be-publicized The Missouri Department of Corrections (DOC) has violated the state’s Sunshine Law by refusing to reveal the name of a pharmacy that compounds lethal injections, a Missouri judge ruled. Fri, 24 Jul 2015 01:00:00 UTC Pharmacists Have Major Responsibilities http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/pharmacists-have-major-responsibilities Blessy George, PharmD, PhD candidate in toxicology at Rutgers University, talks about unexpected things she learned in school. Thu, 23 Jul 2015 06:30:00 UTC International Alliance Develops Between Pharmacy Schools http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/international-alliance-develops-between-pharmacy-schools Stephen F. Eckel, PharmD, MHA, discusses his feelings about the recent pharmacy school collaboration between UNC, University College London, and Monash University in Australia. Thu, 23 Jul 2015 06:00:00 UTC Getting Comfortable with New Pharmacy Technologies http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/getting-comfortable-with-new-pharmacy-technologies Daniel Kraft, MD, chair of medicine at Singularity University and chair/founder of Exponential Medicine, discusses how pharmacists can become more comfortable with new technology. Thu, 23 Jul 2015 03:50:00 UTC A Queer History of Quaalude http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/a-queer-history-of-quaalude Methaqualone (Quaalude) use peaked in the 1970s, but interest in the powerful sedative peaked again when comedian Bill Cosby admitted to using the drugs to have sex with women. Thu, 23 Jul 2015 03:00:00 UTC Top 5 Pharmacist Personality Traits http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/top-5-pharmacist-personality-traits In addition to showing ambition, health care professionals should play to their personality strengths in order to maximize their productivity and job satisfaction. Thu, 23 Jul 2015 02:00:00 UTC Finding a Balance in Pharmacy School http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/finding-a-balance-in-pharmacy-school Tyler Redilico, pharmacy student at Rutgers University's Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy, talks about the biggest challenge in pharmacy school. Thu, 23 Jul 2015 10:00:00 UTC Student's Translating Skills Led Her to Pharmacy http://www.pharmacytimes.com/interviews/students-translating-skills-led-her-to-pharmacy Paola Acevedo, Rutgers University Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy student, shares what led her to pharmacy. Wed, 22 Jul 2015 06:30:00 UTC