Pharmacytimes: Condition Center: http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/mtm/condition-rss en-us Thu, 28 Apr 2016 11:55:05 UTC Thu, 28 Apr 2016 11:55:05 UTC Could an OTC Antacid Treat Tuberculosis? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/acid-reflux/could-an-otc-antacid-treat-tuberculosis The OTC antacid lansoprazole (Prevacid) could actually be a good candidate for treating tuberculosis. Thu, 28 Apr 2016 02:41:00 UTC 6 ACS Memes That Will Make Your Heart Happy http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/ACS/6-acs-memes-that-will-make-your-heart-happy Patients with acute coronary syndrome need to call 911 immediately, but before it occurs, pharmacists can counsel patients on what they need to know about the heart condition. Thu, 28 Apr 2016 02:00:00 UTC Which Drug Should Diabetics Take After Metformin Alone Fails? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/diabetes/which-drug-should-diabetics-take-after-metformin-alone-fails Tight glucose control tempers insidious progress of diabetes. Nevertheless, lifestyle modifications and metformin monotherapy eventually fail to control blood glucose sufficiently in most patients. Thu, 28 Apr 2016 12:45:00 UTC Former Pharmacy Supervisor Arrested on Forgery, Larceny Charges http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/former-pharmacy-supervisor-arrested-on-forgery-larceny-charges The unlawful actions of a former University of Connecticut pharmacy supervisor allegedly cost the university nearly $38,000. Thu, 28 Apr 2016 11:00:00 UTC Motivational Interviewing Can Improve ACS Medication Adherence http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/ACS/motivational-interviewing-can-improve-acs-medication-adherence Pharmacist intervention can improve medication adherence and clinical outcomes for patients with cardiovascular disease. Wed, 27 Apr 2016 04:13:00 UTC 5 Drug Spending Trends to Watch http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/5-drug-spending-trends-to-watch Total spending on prescription drugs in the United States on a net price basis is expected to reach up to $400 billion by 2020, a new forecast suggests. Wed, 27 Apr 2016 02:00:00 UTC Community Pharmacists Decrease CVD Risk in Diabetics http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/diabetes/community-pharmacists-decrease-cvd-risk-in-diabetics The leading cause of death worldwide is preventable. Wed, 27 Apr 2016 01:02:00 UTC Pharmacists Can Match Usual Care for Some Chronic Conditions http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacists-can-match-usual-care-for-some-chronic-conditions Patients with chronic conditions who receive care from pharmacists may be more likely to reach their blood glucose, blood pressure, and cholesterol goals. Tue, 26 Apr 2016 05:38:00 UTC Data-Driven Change Management: Controlling Hospital Drug Costs Through Data Analysis http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/data-driven-change-management-controlling-hospital-drug-costs-through-data-analysis Data by itself may simply be a tool; yet, when applied in the right way, it can be a powerful ally. Tue, 26 Apr 2016 05:20:00 UTC Which Diabetes Patients Participate in MTM Programs? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/diabetes/which-diabetes-patients-participate-in-mtm-programs Diabetes costs the United States more than $300 billion annually, so concerted efforts are needed to manage this disease. Tue, 26 Apr 2016 03:00:00 UTC 5 Alarming Facts About STDs http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/5-alarming-facts-about-stds As STD Awareness Month wraps up, pharmacists should encourage patients to do the same. Tue, 26 Apr 2016 02:00:00 UTC Pharmacists Have a Place in ACS Patient Care http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/ACS/pharmacists-have-a-place-in-acs-patient-care Improved survival after myocardial infarction has swelled the ranks of heart failure patients to 26 million Americans. Tue, 26 Apr 2016 12:40:00 UTC Diabetes Credentials Could Be Good Avenue for Pharmacists http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/diabetes/diabetes-credentials-could-be-good-avenue-for-pharmacists Diabetes has the dubious distinction of being the 7th leading cause of death and the leading cause of kidney failure, non-traumatic lower-limb amputations, and blindness in the United States. Mon, 25 Apr 2016 03:00:00 UTC Common Allergy Drugs May Raise Dementia Risk http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/common-allergy-drugs-may-raise-dementia-risk Anticholinergic agents commonly used for colds and allergies have been linked with brain atrophy and dysfunction. Mon, 25 Apr 2016 02:30:00 UTC FDA Issues Guidance to Reduce Medication Errors http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/fda-issues-guidance-to-reduce-medication-errors A pair of FDA final guidance documents may help drug manufacturers reduce the risk of deadly medication errors. Mon, 25 Apr 2016 01:30:00 UTC Walgreens Agrees to $500K Settlement for Overcharging Customers http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/walgreens-agrees-to-500k-settlement-for-overcharging-customers Walgreens has agreed to pay $500,000 in penalties, fees, and costs related to misleading advertising practices that led to New York customers being overcharged for products. Mon, 25 Apr 2016 12:37:00 UTC Mobile App Helps Patients Manage Prescription Benefits http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/mobile-app-helps-patients-manage-prescription-benefits A prescription price comparison app called OneRx can help patients figure out what co-pay to expect before they arrive at the pharmacy. Fri, 22 Apr 2016 04:00:00 UTC FDA's Anti-Smokeless Tobacco Campaign Targets Rural Teens http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/fdas-anti-smokeless-tobacco-campaign-targets-rural-teens The FDA is expanding “The Real Cost” campaign to focus on educating rural male teens about the dangers of smokeless tobacco. Fri, 22 Apr 2016 03:30:00 UTC 3 Drug Classes That Can Cause Raynaud's Disease http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/3-drug-classes-that-can-cause-raynauds-disease Patients taking drugs from certain classes should be educated about an alarming side effect. Fri, 22 Apr 2016 03:00:00 UTC Prince Visited a Pharmacy the Day Before His Death http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/prince-visited-a-pharmacy-the-day-before-his-death Music icon Prince made 4 trips to a pharmacy in the week before his death on April 21, 2016. Fri, 22 Apr 2016 02:16:00 UTC