Pharmacytimes: Condition Center: http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/melanoma/condition-rss en-us Fri, 26 Aug 2016 05:19:22 UTC Fri, 26 Aug 2016 05:19:22 UTC Is Pokémon Go Dangerous? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/is-pokemon-go-dangerous The monstrous popularity of Pokémon Go is spurring new conversations about the potential health benefits and dangers of mobile augmented reality games. Wed, 24 Aug 2016 02:56:00 UTC Using Digital Media to Counsel Patients http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/using-digital-media-to-counsel-patients Advancements in our ability to care for patients have enabled us to control and sometimes cure many diseases. Tue, 23 Aug 2016 06:06:00 UTC Police Kill Man Holding Pharmacist Hostage at Knifepoint http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/police-kill-man-holding-pharmacist-hostage-at-knifepoint A police officer recently shot and killed a male suspect holding a knife to a Walgreens pharmacist’s throat. Tue, 23 Aug 2016 01:42:00 UTC When It Comes to Flu Shots, Do Pharmacists Practice What They Preach? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/flu/when-it-comes-to-flu-shots-do-pharmacists-practice-what-they-preach Pharmacists recommend an annual flu vaccine to protect patients against influenza-related morbidity and mortality, but do we follow our own advice? Mon, 22 Aug 2016 01:55:00 UTC Brain's Altruism Center Uncovered http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/brains-altruism-center-uncovered A complete understanding of the human desire to help others has long eluded scientists and philosophers, but recent study findings provide insight into the brain mechanisms responsible for altruistic behavior. Fri, 19 Aug 2016 02:20:00 UTC Should Schools Test Kids for HIV? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/hiv/should-schools-test-kids-for-hiv School-based health services provide critical preventive care for adolescents, especially in poor and diverse communities. Fri, 19 Aug 2016 12:35:00 UTC Pharmacist Shot By Man in Women's Clothing http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacist-shot-by-man-in-womens-clothing A pharmacist in Arlington, Texas, was recently shot multiple times by a man disguised in women’s clothing. Thu, 18 Aug 2016 12:33:00 UTC Are We There Yet? 340B: It Is a Journey, Not a Destination http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/are-we-there-yet-340b-it-is-a-journey-not-a-destination The Federal 340B Drug Pricing Program: For more than 25 years, it has provided hospitals with vital cost savings to help them to continue providing comprehensive care to underserved patients. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 08:58:00 UTC Top 5 Most Reputable Pharmaceutical Companies http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/top-5-most-reputable-pharmaceutical-companies Public opinion about pharmaceutical companies has changed in surprising and positive ways. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 04:23:00 UTC How Health-System Pharmacists Help Oncology Patients http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/how-health-system-pharmacists-help-oncology-patients Specialty pharmacists aren’t the only pharmacists who care for oncology patients. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 04:20:00 UTC Which Weight-Loss Drug Works Best? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/which-weight-loss-drug-works-best Some medications may work better than others in those looking to lose weight. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 04:17:00 UTC 3 Hospital-Acquired Infection Tips for Health-System Pharmacists http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/3-hospital-acquired-infection-tips-for-health-system-pharmacists Patients may view a hospital as a safe, sterilized place, but pharmacists should make sure to inform them about the risk for hospital-acquired infections. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 04:15:00 UTC Can Multivitamins Curb Hypertension? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/vitamins-supplements/can-multivitamins-curb-hypertension Little is known about multivitamin use and associated prevention or development of hypertension, especially in women. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 01:00:00 UTC Social Media Isn't Replacing Face-to-Face Interaction http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/social-media-isnt-replacing-face-to-face-interaction Despite concerns that individuals are increasingly fulfilling their social needs through Facebook rather than face-to-face conversations, recent study results show social media users are well aware that there’s no substitute for in-person interaction. Mon, 15 Aug 2016 02:49:00 UTC What's a Banana Bag? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/vitamins-supplements/whats-a-banana-bag The banana bag has been a long-standing treatment for vitamin and electrolyte deficiencies in patients with chronic alcohol use disorder admitted to the intensive care unit. Mon, 15 Aug 2016 02:07:00 UTC Count on Community Pharmacists to Increase Flu Immunizations http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/flu/count-on-community-pharmacists-to-increase-flu-immunizations Pharmacist vaccination programs have increased influenza vaccination coverage. Mon, 15 Aug 2016 12:49:00 UTC Pharmacists Disappointed by DEA Denial to Reschedule Marijuana http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacists-disappointed-by-dea-denial-to-reschedule-marijuana The DEA has again rejected a petition to reschedule marijuana, which remains a Schedule I controlled substance under federal law. Mon, 15 Aug 2016 12:00:00 UTC Pharmacist's Alcohol Problems Spur Second License Suspension http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacists-alcohol-problems-spur-second-license-suspension A Michigan pharmacist’s license to practice has been suspended for the second time because of ongoing alcohol issues. Fri, 12 Aug 2016 12:00:00 UTC Advanced Care Planning for HIV Patients http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/hiv/advanced-care-planning-for-hiv-patients Increased life expectancy for HIV-positive patients spurs the need to discuss advanced care planning. Thu, 11 Aug 2016 05:05:00 UTC Pharmacists in ACOs, Part 1: Accountable Care Basics Every Pharmacist Should Know http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacists-in-acos-part-1-accountable-care-basics-every-pharmacist-should-know While trying to explain his work on quantum mechanics, physicist Richard Feynman famously quipped, “If anybody says they understand it, they don’t understand it.” The same could be said about the speed-of-light changes occurring within our nation’s health care system. Thu, 11 Aug 2016 01:15:00 UTC