Pharmacytimes: Condition Center: http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/hyponatremia/condition-rss en-us Wed, 25 May 2016 01:20:11 UTC Wed, 25 May 2016 01:20:11 UTC Updated Heart Failure Guidelines Highlight Role of Entresto, Corlanor http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/heart-failure/updated-heart-failure-guidelines-highlight-role-of-entresto-corlanor The American College of Cardiology, the American Heart Association, and the Heart Failure Society of America have updated heart failure guidelines to recommend the use of 2 medications: sacubitril/valsartan (Entresto) and ivabradine (Corlanor). Tue, 24 May 2016 05:00:00 UTC Precision Medicine and the 21st Century Cures Act http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/precision-medicine-and-the-21st-century-cures-act The 21st Century Cures Act will have a huge impact on the pharmaceutical industry both nationally and globally. Tue, 24 May 2016 02:52:00 UTC Flu Shot During Pregnancy Can Help Reduce Infant Illness Risk http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/flu/flu-shot-during-pregnancy-can-help-reduce-infant-illness-risk Women who get a flu shot while they’re pregnant help protect their baby from contracting the flu in the first 6 months of life, according to a new study. Tue, 24 May 2016 02:34:00 UTC 4 Women's Health Trends Pharmacists Should Watch http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/womens-health/4-womens-health-trends-pharmacists-should-watch The term “women’s health” shouldn’t be limited to reproductive matters. Tue, 24 May 2016 01:25:00 UTC How Do Comorbidities Affect Older ACS Patients? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/ACS/how-do-comorbidities-affect-older-acs-patients Acute coronary syndrome is one of the many diseases and disorders that becomes more common with advancing age. Tue, 24 May 2016 12:37:00 UTC Twitter Could Help Predict and Prevent Asthma Flare-Ups http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/asthma/twitter-could-help-predict-and-prevent-asthma-flare-ups Tweets about asthma could provide clues to asthma-related emergency room visits. Mon, 23 May 2016 03:00:00 UTC Pharmacy Students' Attitudes Toward HIV-Positive Patients http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/hiv/pharmacy-students-attitudes-toward-hiv-positive-patients Pharmacy schools may want to consider placing a greater focus on HIV education, since a new study suggests there’s still HIV stigma among some pharmacy students. Mon, 23 May 2016 02:00:00 UTC Improved Care Coordination Could Increase Patient Satisfaction http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/improved-care-coordination-could-increase-patient-satisfaction Patient satisfaction is based on more than just time spent with a single health care provider. Mon, 23 May 2016 01:00:00 UTC Pharmacist May Have Been Passenger on Missing EgyptAir Plane http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacist-may-have-been-passenger-on-missing-egyptair-plane One of the passengers on EgyptAir flight MS804 that crashed in the Mediterranean Sea may have been a pharmacist. Fri, 20 May 2016 06:18:00 UTC How Pharmacists Can Reduce Medication Errors Among HIV Patients http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/hiv/how-pharmacists-can-reduce-medication-errors-among-hiv-patients The transition from an acute hospitalization back into the community introduces ample opportunities for medication errors, and HIV patients who need dosage adjustments and intense monitoring are particularly liable to them. Fri, 20 May 2016 02:00:00 UTC Pharmacist Allegedly Tried to Poison Coworker He Admired http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacist-allegedly-tried-to-poison-coworker-he-admired A pharmacy assistant sought help from the police after she noticed she felt sick at work and the beverages she drank there tended to have a strange, bitter taste. Fri, 20 May 2016 01:00:00 UTC 3 Crucial Considerations for Pharmacists in the Age of Consumerism http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/3-crucial-considerations-for-pharmacists-in-the-age-of-consumerism As consumers take on more financial responsibility for their health care, their need grows for more engagement with their pharmacists. Thu, 19 May 2016 04:10:00 UTC Generic Prescribing Increases with EHR Default Display Change http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/generic-prescribing-increases-with-ehr-default-display-change Health care providers are much more likely to select a generic drug when their electronic health record system displays generics by default. Thu, 19 May 2016 02:00:00 UTC 6 Hot Findings on HIV Prevalence http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/hiv/6-hot-findings-on-hiv-prevalence What does your typical newly diagnosed HIV patient look like? Thu, 19 May 2016 12:54:00 UTC Diabetes Drug Linked with Increased Risk of Amputations http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/canagliflozin-linked-with-increased-risk-of-amputations The FDA has issued a warning to patients and providers concerning a potential risk of leg and foot amputations associated with the use of the diabetes medication canagliflozin. Wed, 18 May 2016 06:25:00 UTC 5 Things You Don't Know About Dry Mouth http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/5-things-you-dont-know-about-dry-mouth Did you know that millions of patients experience dry mouth on an episodic or chronic basis? Or that dry mouth isn’t a disease itself, but a symptom of an underlying issue? Wed, 18 May 2016 06:17:00 UTC FDA Stretches Oversight to All Tobacco Sales http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/fda-stretches-oversight-to-all-tobacco-sales Pharmacies will no longer be able to legally sell e-cigarettes, hookah, and cigars to anyone younger than 18 years. Wed, 18 May 2016 02:00:00 UTC 3 Common Barriers to Cardiac Medication Adherence http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/3-common-barriers-to-cardiac-medication-adherence Pharmacists can help evaluate and address adherence barriers among patients taking medications for cardiovascular disease. Wed, 18 May 2016 12:54:00 UTC Pharmacist Accused of Stealing Oxycodone, Hydrocodone, Amphetamine Salts http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacist-accused-of-stealing-oxycodone-hydrocodone-amphetamine-salts A Safeway pharmacist has been indicted on 14 felony counts and is accused of stealing at least 3000 doses of oxycodone, hydrocodone, and amphetamine salts. Tue, 17 May 2016 02:00:00 UTC Drug Interactions Diabetics Should Avoid http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/diabetes/drug-interactions-diabetics-should-avoid Patients with diabetes have a higher pill burden than the general population, so pharmacists should pay particular attention to potential drug interactions with antidiabetic agents. Tue, 17 May 2016 01:00:00 UTC