Pharmacytimes: Condition Center: http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/cold_and_flu/condition-rss en-us Mon, 29 Aug 2016 08:06:01 UTC Mon, 29 Aug 2016 08:06:01 UTC Community Pharmacy Services Keep Customer Satisfaction High http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/community-pharmacy-services-keep-customer-satisfaction-high Customer satisfaction with drugstore chain, mass-merchandiser, supermarket, and mail-order pharmacies has improved across the board in the last year. Mon, 29 Aug 2016 02:16:00 UTC Initiating an Antimicrobial Stewardship Program: The Costs and the Benefits http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/initiating-an-antimicrobial-stewardship-program-the-costs-and-the-benefits For decades, our growing and reliable arsenal of antibiotic and antimicrobial drugs created a dangerously cavalier attitude toward the nature of microbial pathogens and the true threat to public health they represent. Mon, 29 Aug 2016 01:37:00 UTC Another Pharmacist Robbed at Knifepoint in Ohio http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/another-pharmacist-robbed-at-knifepoint-in-ohio For the second time this week, a pharmacist in Ohio was reportedly threatened by a knife-wielding pharmacy robber. Fri, 26 Aug 2016 02:07:00 UTC 10 Reasons Pharmacists Should Care About Horseshoe Crabs http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/10-reasons-pharmacists-should-care-about-horseshoe-crabs As the last beach trips of the summer are made, some may cross paths with the brown, helmet-shaped marine arthropod known as the horseshoe crab. Fri, 26 Aug 2016 01:04:00 UTC Expanding HIV Research to the Transgender Community http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/hiv/expanding-hiv-research-to-the-transgender-community The transgender community includes a plethora of patients who can benefit from HIV/AIDS research. However, clinical trials rarely include transgender participants. Fri, 26 Aug 2016 12:55:00 UTC Is Pokémon Go Dangerous? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/is-pokemon-go-dangerous The monstrous popularity of Pokémon Go is spurring new conversations about the potential health benefits and dangers of mobile augmented reality games. Wed, 24 Aug 2016 02:56:00 UTC Using Digital Media to Counsel Patients http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/using-digital-media-to-counsel-patients Advancements in our ability to care for patients have enabled us to control and sometimes cure many diseases. Tue, 23 Aug 2016 06:06:00 UTC Police Kill Man Holding Pharmacist Hostage at Knifepoint http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/police-kill-man-holding-pharmacist-hostage-at-knifepoint A police officer recently shot and killed a male suspect holding a knife to a Walgreens pharmacist’s throat. Tue, 23 Aug 2016 01:42:00 UTC When It Comes to Flu Shots, Do Pharmacists Practice What They Preach? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/flu/when-it-comes-to-flu-shots-do-pharmacists-practice-what-they-preach Pharmacists recommend an annual flu vaccine to protect patients against influenza-related morbidity and mortality, but do we follow our own advice? Mon, 22 Aug 2016 01:55:00 UTC Brain's Altruism Center Uncovered http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/brains-altruism-center-uncovered A complete understanding of the human desire to help others has long eluded scientists and philosophers, but recent study findings provide insight into the brain mechanisms responsible for altruistic behavior. Fri, 19 Aug 2016 02:20:00 UTC Should Schools Test Kids for HIV? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/hiv/should-schools-test-kids-for-hiv School-based health services provide critical preventive care for adolescents, especially in poor and diverse communities. Fri, 19 Aug 2016 12:35:00 UTC Pharmacist Shot By Man in Women's Clothing http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacist-shot-by-man-in-womens-clothing A pharmacist in Arlington, Texas, was recently shot multiple times by a man disguised in women’s clothing. Thu, 18 Aug 2016 12:33:00 UTC Are We There Yet? 340B: It Is a Journey, Not a Destination http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/are-we-there-yet-340b-it-is-a-journey-not-a-destination The Federal 340B Drug Pricing Program: For more than 25 years, it has provided hospitals with vital cost savings to help them to continue providing comprehensive care to underserved patients. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 08:58:00 UTC Top 5 Most Reputable Pharmaceutical Companies http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/top-5-most-reputable-pharmaceutical-companies Public opinion about pharmaceutical companies has changed in surprising and positive ways. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 04:23:00 UTC How Health-System Pharmacists Help Oncology Patients http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/how-health-system-pharmacists-help-oncology-patients Specialty pharmacists aren’t the only pharmacists who care for oncology patients. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 04:20:00 UTC Which Weight-Loss Drug Works Best? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/which-weight-loss-drug-works-best Some medications may work better than others in those looking to lose weight. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 04:17:00 UTC 3 Hospital-Acquired Infection Tips for Health-System Pharmacists http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/3-hospital-acquired-infection-tips-for-health-system-pharmacists Patients may view a hospital as a safe, sterilized place, but pharmacists should make sure to inform them about the risk for hospital-acquired infections. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 04:15:00 UTC Can Multivitamins Curb Hypertension? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/vitamins-supplements/can-multivitamins-curb-hypertension Little is known about multivitamin use and associated prevention or development of hypertension, especially in women. Tue, 16 Aug 2016 01:00:00 UTC Social Media Isn't Replacing Face-to-Face Interaction http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/social-media-isnt-replacing-face-to-face-interaction Despite concerns that individuals are increasingly fulfilling their social needs through Facebook rather than face-to-face conversations, recent study results show social media users are well aware that there’s no substitute for in-person interaction. Mon, 15 Aug 2016 02:49:00 UTC What's a Banana Bag? http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/vitamins-supplements/whats-a-banana-bag The banana bag has been a long-standing treatment for vitamin and electrolyte deficiencies in patients with chronic alcohol use disorder admitted to the intensive care unit. Mon, 15 Aug 2016 02:07:00 UTC