Pharmacytimes: Condition Center: http://www.pharmacytimes.com/resource-centers/alzheimers_disease/condition-rss en-us Sat, 13 Feb 2016 04:44:29 UTC Sat, 13 Feb 2016 04:44:29 UTC 7 Drug Shortage Findings Health-System Pharmacists Should Know http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/7-drug-shortage-findings-health-system-pharmacists-should-know Health-system pharmacists can play a critical role in managing drug shortages to prevent medical errors and adverse events. Fri, 12 Feb 2016 03:21:00 UTC Americans Continue to Contract Zika Virus http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/americans-continue-to-contract-zika-virus The White House is asking Congress for more than $1.8 billion in emergency funding to combat the Zika virus, which is creeping into the United States and ravaging some foreign countries. Fri, 12 Feb 2016 02:00:00 UTC Q&A with US Representative Buddy Carter, the Only Pharmacist in Congress http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/qa-with-us-representative-buddy-carter-the-only-pharmacist-in-congress As the only pharmacist serving in Congress, US Representative Earl L. “Buddy” Carter is a critical leader of efforts to pass federal legislation pertinent to pharmacists. Fri, 12 Feb 2016 01:00:00 UTC Pharmacy Dispensed Wrong Drug to 4-Year-Old Girl http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacy-dispensed-wrong-drug-to-4-year-old-girl An Arkansas family is taking legal action against a pharmacy for dispensing the wrong medication to a 4-year-old child. Thu, 11 Feb 2016 03:45:00 UTC How Rhinovirus Causes Infectious Cough Remains a Mystery http://www.pharmacytimes.com/condition-resources/cough-cold/how-rhinovirus-causes-infectious-cough-remains-a-mystery Pharmacists know that a cough can be triggered by many stimuli. Thu, 11 Feb 2016 03:00:00 UTC 8 Counseling Points for Patients with Constipation http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/8-counseling-points-for-patients-with-constipation A Super Bowl 50 commercial may be encouraging patients to seek help for their constipation. Thu, 11 Feb 2016 01:00:00 UTC Anti-Vaxxers Find Home on Pinterest http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/anti-vaxxers-find-home-on-pinterest Pharmacists might be surprised to learn that Pinterest is a hotbed for anti-vaccine sentiment. Wed, 10 Feb 2016 02:48:00 UTC 3 Key Findings on HIV Medication Errors http://www.pharmacytimes.com/condition-resources/hiv/3-key-findings-on-hiv-medication-errors Medication errors injure thousands of patients annually, and while mistakes occur with all medication classes, those involving antiretroviral therapies are particularly troublesome. Wed, 10 Feb 2016 12:00:00 UTC 3 Things Pharmacists Should Know About Mucoactive Agents for Cold Treatment http://www.pharmacytimes.com/condition-resources/cough-cold/3-things-pharmacists-should-know-about-mucoactive-agents-for-cold-treatment Acute respiratory infections such as the common cold are often accompanied by cough and congestion caused by mucus hypersecretion. Tue, 09 Feb 2016 03:00:00 UTC Medication Adherence and Patient Engagement in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/medication-adherence-and-patient-engagement-in-patients-with-type-2-diabetes Poor medication adherence is responsible for unnecessary illness, hospitalizations, disability, and premature death, particularly among patients with chronic diseases. Tue, 09 Feb 2016 02:34:00 UTC Pharmacy Robber Stole Diabetic Test Strips http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacy-robber-stole-diabetic-test-strips Police and a CVS pharmacy are on the lookout for a man who stole several boxes of diabetic test strips. Tue, 09 Feb 2016 01:40:00 UTC 8 Diabetes Memes Guaranteed to Make You Laugh http://www.pharmacytimes.com/condition-resources/diabetes/8-diabetes-memes-guaranteed-to-make-you-laugh Diabetes is not a fun condition. Mon, 08 Feb 2016 03:43:00 UTC Use Caution When Giving OTC Meds to Children http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/use-caution-when-giving-otc-meds-to-children OTC medications can have serious side effects in children if they are not carefully administered. Mon, 08 Feb 2016 02:19:00 UTC PPIs Could Raise Chronic Kidney Disease Risk http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/ppis-could-raise-chronic-kidney-disease-risk Chronic kidney disease incidence has grown faster than many of its common comorbidities such as diabetes and hypertension, and medications may be an underappreciated driver of this growth. Fri, 05 Feb 2016 04:00:00 UTC White House Asks for $1.1B to Combat Opioid Abuse http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/white-house-asks-for-11b-to-combat-opioid-abuse President Barack Obama’s fiscal year 2017 budget proposal calls for an additional $1.1 billion to combat the nation’s spiraling opioid epidemic. Fri, 05 Feb 2016 03:00:00 UTC 9 Flu Memes Sure to Resonate with Pharmacists http://www.pharmacytimes.com/condition-resources/flu/9-flu-memes-sure-to-resonate-with-pharmacists Pharmacists are essential players in preventing and stopping the spread of influenza. Fri, 05 Feb 2016 01:00:00 UTC Zinc Supplementation May Boost Immunity in Elderly http://www.pharmacytimes.com/condition-resources/vitamins-supplements/zinc-supplementation-may-boost-immunity-in-elderly Zinc supplementation in older patients could help boost their immunity. Fri, 05 Feb 2016 12:00:00 UTC FDA Rethinks Opioid Approach Amid Drug Abuse Epidemic http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/fda-rethinks-opioid-approach-amid-drug-abuse-epidemic The FDA today announced that it's taking a hard look at how it's addressing the opioid abuse epidemic. Thu, 04 Feb 2016 09:45:00 UTC Pharmacy Robber Found Dead Shortly After Stealing Fentanyl http://www.pharmacytimes.com/news/pharmacy-robber-found-dead-shortly-after-stealing-fentanyl A pharmacy robber was found dead in a van just 3 hours after he stole fentanyl. Thu, 04 Feb 2016 05:15:00 UTC 3 Events Preceding Gaps in Diabetes Treatment http://www.pharmacytimes.com/condition-resources/diabetes/3-events-preceding-gaps-in-diabetes-treatment More than 20,000 articles have been written on how poor medication adherence, which costs the United States between $68 to $146 billion annually, increases adverse clinical outcomes and mortality. Thu, 04 Feb 2016 04:13:00 UTC