ASHP Honors Pharmacists for Innovative Best Practices

DECEMBER 05, 2011
Six teams of practitioners who successfully created and carried out innovative approaches to improve the delivery of patient care within their health systems were recognized on December 5 at the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) 46th Midyear Clinical Meeting in New Orleans. Sponsored in cooperation with Amgen, the award recognizes pharmacists who demonstrate leadership in enhancing patient care and other areas of pharmacy practice.

“The award winners have exhibited bold leadership by taking creative approaches to improve the quality of patient care,” said ASHP President Stanley S. Kent, MS, FASHP, in a statement. “We are pleased to honor these individuals and the unique contributions they have made to pharmacy practice.”

This year’s winners, chosen from a nationwide pool of applicants, are:

Development, Implementation, and Impact of a Comprehensive, Patient-Centered, Medical Service Based Pharmacy Practice Model
University of North Carolina Hospitals, Chapel Hill
Stephen F. Eckel, PharmD, MHA, BCPS, FAPhA, FASHP; Robert P. Granko, PharmD, MBA; Scott Savage, PharmD, MS; Brett Crisp, PharmD, MS; Edwin Smith, PharmD, MBA; and Rowell Daniels, PharmD, MS

Keeping Our Smart Pumps “Smart”
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Susan Skledar, BS, MPH, FASHP; Cynthia Niccolai, BS, PharmD; Dennis Schilling, PharmD; Susan Costello, RN, MSN; Nicolette Mininni, RN, MEd, CCRN; Kelly Ervin, BS, CPhT; and Alana Urban, RN, MSN, CCRN

Metamorphosis of the Pharmacy Practice Model at an Academic Medical Center: Creating Improvements in Medication Safety, Patient Outcomes, and Financial Performance via Implementation of a Comprehensive Pharmacy Practice Model
The University of Chicago Medical Center
Heath R. Jennings, PharmD, BCPS; Dave Hicks, RPh, MBA; Katherine D. Mieure, PharmD, BCPS; Judith Brown-Scott, RPh; Sandeep Parsad, PharmD, BCOP; Ishaq Lat, PharmD, BCPS; Elisabeth Mouw, PharmD, BCPS; and Ben Brielmaier, PharmD, BCPS

Patient Centered Medical Home: Developing, Expanding and Sustaining a Role for Pharmacists
University of Michigan Health Systems and University of Michigan College of Pharmacy, Ann Arbor
Hae Mi Choe, PharmD; Stu Rockafellow, PharmD; Trisha Wells, PharmD; Tami Remington, PharmD; Leslie Shimp, PharmD; Heidi Diez, PharmD; and Annie Sy, PharmD

Pharmacist-Led Antibiotic Stewardship Program Reduces Inappropriate Antibiotic Use and Hospital-acquired Clostridium difficile
Abbott Northwestern Hospital, Allina Hospitals & Clinics, Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jessica Holt, PharmD, BCPS-ID; Kristine Gullickson, PharmD; Daniel Anderson, MD; Elliot Francke, MD; Jessica Nerby, MPH; and Jason Sanchez, MD

Project PRIMED (Pharmacist Reconciliation and Medication Education at Discharge)
Froedtert Hospital & Medical College of Wisconsin
Erika Smith, PharmD; Ryan Fleming, PharmD; Todd Karpinski, MS, PharmD; Garret Newkirk, MS, PharmD, BCPS; Siddhartha Singh, MD; and Jill Zimmerman, MS, PharmD

ASHP established the award in 1999 to recognize and foster innovation in health-system pharmacy. Award recipients presented posters of their program during a reception last night in New Orleans. Summaries of their programs are available online.

At the meeting, the ASHP also recognized 6 members for their participation in volunteer activities that helped advance health-system pharmacy with the Society’s Pharmacy Practice Sections and New Practitioners Forum Distinguished Service Award. The award is given to one member of each of ASHP’s pharmacy practice sections and the New Practitioners Forum for their sustained contribution to their membership group and efforts to improve the practice area of their sections or forum.

“These dedicated professionals are an important part of ASHP’s efforts on behalf of patients and the profession,” said Dr. Kent. “We are pleased to recognize their contributions to ASHP, their communities, and especially, their patients.”

This year’s recipients are:

Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists
Susan Goodin, PharmD, Associate Director, Clinical Trials and Therapeutics, The Cancer Institute of New Jersey

Section of Ambulatory Care Practitioners
Richard L. Stambaugh, PharmD, MS, BCPS, Assistant Chief, Pharmacy Service for Clinical Pharmacy, VA Medical Center

Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners
Deb Saine, MS, RPh, FASHP, Medication Safety Manager, Winchester Medical Center

Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology
Dennis A. Tribble, PharmD, FASHP, Chief Pharmacy Officer, Baxa Corporation

Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers
Audrey T. Nakamura, PharmD, Pharmacy Manager of Surgical Services, UCLA Ronald Reagan Medical Center

New Practitioners Forum
Michael DeCoske, PharmD, Associate Chief Pharmacy Officer, Duke University Hospital

Pharmacy Times Strategic Alliance

Pharmacist Education
Clinical features with downloadable PDFs

Personalize the information you receive by selecting targeted content and special offers.