Connecticut's DeFazio Named Independent Pharmacist of the Year

Published Online: Sunday, October 14, 2012
Follow Pharmacy_Times:

San Diego, CA (October 14, 2012) Angelo DeFazio, RPh, president and CEO of five Arrow Pharmacies in Hartford, CT, has been named the 2012 National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year. The award is sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc. DeFazio received his award on Sunday, October 14 during the First General Session of the NCPA 114th Annual Convention and Trade Exposition held October 13-17 in San Diego.

The Independent Pharmacist of the Year award recognizes an independent pharmacist for exemplary leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy and to their community. The award is named in honor of someone who exemplified these qualities: Willard B. Simmons, a former executive secretary of NCPA (then the National Association of Retail Druggists) and long-time NCPA Foundation trustee.

"Angelo DeFazio is a very deserving recipient of the Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year award," said Lonny Wilson, DPh, NCPA president and pharmacy owner in Oklahoma City, OK. "He not only has been a successful owner of multiple pharmacies that offer a wide array of services geared to maximizing patient outcomes in the Hartford area, but ably represents the concerns of independent community pharmacies through his work on the boards of several influential pharmacy organizations, where his leadership and expertise are valued."

DeFazio is a graduate of the University of Connecticut, School of Pharmacy. He purchased his first pharmacy at the age of 26. DeFazio has been very active in pharmacy-related pharmacy issues, at both the state and national level. He serves or has served on various boards, which include the Connecticut Pharmacists Association, the National Retail Advisory Board of Cardinal Health, Community Specialty Pharmacy Network, Mercy Community Healthcare, The University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy Advisory Board, Malta House of Care, and was a recent appointment to the Connecticut Board of Pharmacy as a Commissioner of Pharmacy.

"Angelo DeFazio is tireless in his advocacy for independent community pharmacies and the patients they serve," Tom Burke, COO of Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc. "Upsher Smith takes pride in its support of independent community pharmacists, which is exemplified by our sponsoring of the Independent Pharmacist of the Year award. By highlighting pharmacists like DeFazio, we hope to inspire others to follow a similar path."

Related Articles
B. Douglas Hoey, RPh, MBA, CEO of the National Community Pharmacists Association, discusses how quality measures are impacting pharmacy.
B. Douglas Hoey, RPh, MBA, CEO of the National Community Pharmacists Association, discusses new adherence programs independent pharmacists are using.
Unless you personally know a residency director, it’s difficult to connect with one. That’s where pharmacy conferences come in.
The National Community Pharmacists Association applauds the Department of Labor ERISA Advisory Council for voting unanimously yesterday to recommend that DOL extend existing financial disclosure requirements to pharmacy benefit managers.
Latest Issues