Next-Generation Pharmacist™ Awards 2015

2015 Next-Generation Pharmacist™ Awards
The Next-Generation Pharmacist™ awards program, co-founded by Pharmacy Times and Parata Systems, is now in its sixth year. This national awards program honors pharmacists, technicians, students, and industry advocates who are defining the future of pharmacy. Since 2010, more than 100 pharmacy leaders have been named finalists or winners.

This year's program culminates in Orlando, Florida, on Thursday, Aug. 6, with an awards gala at Soundstage 33 - right in the heart of Universal Studios Florida®. The "Innovation and Inspiration" themed evening will include entertainment from renowned motivational speaker, entertainer, and author Giovanni Livera, who will inspire attendees with his "Anything is Possible" approach to magic, work, and life.

Nominees in 11 different award categories, described below, have been evaluated by an independent panel of judges chaired by Pharmacy Times Editor-in-Chief Fred Eckel. In addition to the 11 category winners, 1 pharmacist winner will be named the 2015 Next-Generation Pharmacist, the program's top honor. This winner will also be featured on the August 2015 cover of Pharmacy Times.

Nominations are now closed. To be among the first to hear when Next-Generation Pharmacist™ finalists are announced and for updates on the awards event, click here and sign up for email updates.

See Official Rules at for additional eligibility restrictions, prize descriptions, restrictions, and complete details. Sponsors: Pharmacy and Healthcare Communications, LLC and Parata Systems, LLC ("Sponsor" or "Sponsors").

2015 Award Categories

2015 Civic Leader
Civic Leader of the YearAwarded to a pharmacist who donates his or her time and resources with the principal objective of improving the community in which he or she resides and/or the pharmacy operates, particularly when the vision is related to pharmacy care and the health outcomes of the community.

2015 Entrepreneur
Entrepreneur of the YearAwarded to a pharmacist who owns a pharmacy in whole or in part and who demonstrates an entrepreneurial spirit in his or her drive and ability to grow the business or whose advocacy has helped create a better environment for future pharmacy growth.

2015 Future Pharmacist
Future Pharmacist of the YearAwarded to a student pharmacist who demonstrates spirit and passion for the profession, primarily through academic achievement, in conjunction with one or more of the following criteria: industry advocacy, patient advocacy, technology innovation, civic leadership and/or environmental stewardship with regard to pharmacy.

2015 Health-System Pharmacist
Health SystemAwarded to a pharmacist who works in a health-system setting, such as a hospital, long-term care facility, home care, or a health maintenance organization, and has demonstrated improvements in the coordination of care.

2015 Lifetime Leadership
Lifetime AchievementAwarded to a licensed pharmacist who has been practicing in a pharmacy setting or has served the industry in a professional capacity or leadership or advocacy role. The nomination should demonstrate that the nominee has made significant contributions to the pharmacy industry overall that resulted in meaningful improvements in the quality of patient care and improved delivery models and pharmacy’s role on the health care team.

2015 Military Pharmacist
Military Pharmacist of the YearAwarded to an active duty or reserve military pharmacist who operates within a branch of the United States armed forces and who demonstrates an innovative approach to patient care for those who serve our country.

2015 Patient Care Provider
Patient Care Provider of the YearAwarded to a pharmacist whose focus on patient care and customer service, through a specific occasion, personal action, or activity, has established himself or herself as an exemplary patient advocate.

2015 Rising Star
Rising Star of the YearAwarded to a pharmacist who is defining the future standard of pharmacy practice by his or her professional practice and/or by advocacy in the pharmacy industry. To be eligible, a nominee must have been practicing for at most 5 years. (Student pharmacists should be nominated for the Future Pharmacist category.)

2015 Specialty Pharmacist
Specialty Pharmacist of the YearAwarded to a pharmacist whose primary focus is to provide specialty services and disease management for patients with complex or rare diseases who are being treated with high-touch, high-cost specialty medications. This pharmacist’s responsibilities include the efficient delivery of drugs that require special handling and storage, patient education, and promoting adherence.

2015 Technician
Pharmacy Technician of the YearAwarded to a certified pharmacy technician who demonstrates the highest professional standards of patient care and performs consistently and reliably as a valued member of the pharmacy team.

2015 Technology Innovator
Technology Innovator of the YearAwarded to a pharmacist who successfully leverages pharmacy technology tools to advance patient care standards, business profitability, and/or employee productivity.

2015 Next-Generation Pharmacist:
The program's top honor, "Next-Generation Pharmacist," is selected from among the winners in the pharmacist categories and awarded to the pharmacist who is defining the future of pharmacy by his or her uncompromising vision for a specific pharmacy or the industry overall.

Previous Award Winners and Finalists:

2014 Winners

2014 Finalists

2013 Winners

2013 Finalists

2012 Winners

2012 Finalists

2012 Winners and Finalists Videos

2011 Winners

2011 Finalists
2011 Winners and Finalists Videos
2010 Winners

2010 Finalists (pdf)
2010 Winners and Finalists Videos
Click here to see other Next-Generation Pharmacist™ videos.

Latest Issues